Menu
Specialkcf
Tuning in
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

VM Hub 3 connection into home telephone network

I have switched from BT to VM. The VM engineer just connected the phone into the Router. I want this input to be connected to the 3 phones in my house

Can I:

1. Connect the RJ11 from the back of the Router to the A and B connections on my Master socket, which was originally Eurobell which was taken over by Virgin and is not BT owned. This master socket already connects to two of the extensions in the house. I can then connect to the 3rd phone directly from this box.

2. If yes, what colour wires from the RJ11 connect to the A and B terminals.

Thanks for any help    Keith

0 Kudos
Nicholas_k
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM Hub 3 connection into home telephone network

Hi,you can connect a permanent cable from the router to the master socket as long as the incoming phone line is physically cut.

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Specialkcf
Tuning in
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Thank you for the quick reply. Yes, The BT input is cut. Do you know what wires out of the RJ11 that I connect to A and B ?

Thanks   Keith

0 Kudos
Specialkcf
Tuning in
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

The RJ11 had 4 wires. I had the RJ11 connected to the phone socket at the rear of the router and I connected each wire  in turn to the A and B connectors on the Master Socket. I had a phone plugged into the test socket of the Master Socket. Unfortunately, none of the c onnections gave me a phone connection. Any other advice from anyone?

Also, I do not want to contact the Mumbai Customer Services. Does anyone have a UK email or telephone  numberfor Customer Services?

Thanks

0 Kudos
nodrogd
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator