Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Telecare Alarm Enquiry

Hi all, I am new to VM and this is my first post. 

So I have Autism and I have a Telecare installed by my local council. 

I have tested the Telecare Alarm and it works which is fantastic. 

However in the past we have suffered from power and internet outages in my area. 

So I have a few questions regarding this and I would like to see if the community would be able to assist me if possible. 

Firstly I have installed a the new V6 box and my telephony is run via the VOIP system as my address is FTTP (Fiber to the Premises) so I rely on power and internet to run the system including my telecare alarm. 

So what would happen if I was to suffer an outage outside office hours? Is there an accessible 24/7 customer service available similar to what Sky does? 

Secondly if the Internet was to go down would I qualify due to my disability and my careline installed for a next day priority response? 

Lastly if the phone lines or internet was down for a provided with a temporary SIM card to keep me going? 

Thank you for taking the time to read and hopefully reply. 

Kind Regards 

FiberFan 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Telecare Alarm Enquiry

id the network is backed up with UPS on the green boxes. They should be but its hard to maintain 1000's of UPS batteries every year then the network will remain up and all you need is a UPS on your end to power the fibre converter and hub.

Saying that VM do have methods to deal with things like this, I'm not sure what they are but Ofcom makes a rule that you must be able to keep a phone line up in a power outage if needed for medical reasons.

See what VM have to say when they get to the thread in a few days.

VM: please keep the answer public as much as possible as i'd like to know the answer to this as well.