Menu
Reply
WW1948
  • 85
  • 3
  • 6
Dialled in
407 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Landlines

Does any one know what is happening in  when phones are switched off?

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.09K
  • 33
  • 69
Forum Team
Forum Team
401 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Landlines

Hi @WW1948,

 

Thank you for coming back to us on this Forum! Thank you for your post.

 

Apologies, would you be able to expand on your query a little further? I'm not too sure what you are asking?

 

Is there a landline issue that you're experiencing? Have you checked if there is an active dial tone on your landline? 

 

You can always take a look at our Landline Faults page to see if this page can help identify your landline issue.

 

As well as this, you can always check our Service Status page or call out Automated Service Status line on 0800 561 0061 to see if there are any area issues impacting your services.

 

Please come back to me with more information, so I can look into this further for you. 🙂

 

Thanks!

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
goslow
  • 1.49K
  • 259
  • 500
Knows their stuff
394 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Landlines


@WW1948 wrote:

Does any one know what is happening in  when phones are switched off?


Are you referring to the shutdown of the current phone network and migration to VOIP-based services ...

The links below offer some further information

https://www.futureofvoice.co.uk/

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/home-phone/virginphone

target date for completion is 2025. VM install the new system, with phone via the VM hub, for new customers and are gradually rolling out the technology across the VM network.

nodrogd
  • 16.8K
  • 1.97K
  • 4.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
393 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Landlines


@WW1948 wrote:

Does any one know what is happening in  when phones are switched off?


Not so much switched off as migrated.

Just like TV & Radio, telephone systems are now moving into the digital age. This means all your call will eventually be routed over the internet via a server rather than down a separate piece of copper wire to a huge exchange with thousands of switches.

The only difference you will see is that your landline phone will plug into your internet hub instead of a socket on the wall.

VM BB TV Landline PAYG mobile. Freeview/Freesat HD, Tesco Mobile. Customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

SP60
  • 31
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
217 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Landlines

 

The only difference you will see is that your landline phone will plug into your internet hub instead of a socket on the wall.

I appreciate that the phone will be plugged into the hub BUT my house alarm is wired into the existing analog bix. Not sure what happens to this.

0 Kudos
Reply
Serena_C
  • 807
  • 38
  • 81
Forum Team
Forum Team
211 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Landlines

Hi @WW1948,

 

Just to clarify, the phones are not being switched off. We are migrating customers over to VOIP-based services.

 

The only noticable change for customers will be that the landline will be plugged into the Hub rather than the wall socket.

 

Best wishes,

 

Serena

0 Kudos
Reply
goslow
  • 1.49K
  • 259
  • 500
Knows their stuff
201 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Landlines


@SP60 wrote:

The only difference you will see is that your landline phone will plug into your internet hub instead of a socket on the wall.

I appreciate that the phone will be plugged into the hub BUT my house alarm is wired into the existing analog bix. Not sure what happens to this.


You'll need to make arrangements to get the extension for the alarm linked into the VM hub's phone socket, either by VM or a third party. VM might do it for you as part of the 21CV migration or they might want to charge you £99 to do it. The VM processes and information on this are inconsistent.

Alternatively, discuss the issue with your alarm provider. Most should now be able to offer a feature to dial out via a mobile signal (via a modification or upgrade to the alarm panel) or by adding an external device to do this. It is also feasible, via additional hardware or modification, to have the alarm dial out on the landline by default but fail-over to a mobile connection if the landline goes down.

0 Kudos
Reply
ALF28
  • 969
  • 18
  • 102
Well-informed
116 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Landlines

Hub Phones

Hope my landline is not going to change anytime soon with the migration to fibre . (2025)

I switch my hub off at night as it is in a bedroom - (the same as a power cut ) this would disconnect  the hub  connected phones and the possibility of requiring an emergency backup line (mobile) all seem  complicated so hope I can keep my landline for the time being, and any changes may involve moving the hub which has sone Ethernet connections. The advantage of the landline phones  is they are already a good backup to the mobile phones if the go down, have had that happen twice or if there are power cuts etc. the landline still functions as it is self powered.

I have 2 landline phones, so some wiring changes would be needed or cordless phones bought which I dislike.

I  wonder what will happen to people with no broadband only a BT phoneline, I do have an old BT point if I wish to keep a landline phone.

Perhaps many are switching to mobile phones now, I do have mobile phones also.

 The hub connected phones be the same price as the landline but  will the calls be free (like VoIP) or charged per minute like a landline.

The hub has 2 phone connections, would they both be the same phone number or is just one used with a splitter.

Will the emergency service be able to locate the hub phone as they do with landlines, they can pinpoint the area, I have had to call ambulances a few times, and if the hub was down or switched off it may not be as reliable as  landlines which are reliable.

alf28

 

0 Kudos
Reply