Menu
Vickywow
Tuning in
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Connecting landline phone

I have been paying line rental for over 5 years and have decided to dig my landline phone out and connect it. for the first time. I have found the virgin media cable (I think) connected it to the router and the phone but it's not working. Do I need an adapter or am I doing something wrong? Presuming the cable is the one I found in the box? But I've since had a new router so has the cable changed?

Very confused now. But have checked service status and line and no faults are showing.

0 Kudos
HowardML
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Connecting landline phone

You will have to look for the VM standard phone socket on the wall to get your line to work. The phone via router method is only available for new installations or in areas where VM have done a mass transfer to the new system. If you haven't received a letter from VM about that you aren't in one of those areas.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Vickywow
Tuning in
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

That's great thanks a lot. Presuming it's the one labelled NTL? Will try that.

0 Kudos
HowardML
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

It is.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
cestlavie
Joining in
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

I am unable to connect my landline to existing cable connection - I purchased a new handset for the landline and it does not have a connection for mains; the connector I purchased RJ11 does not fit the connection at the bottom of the hand set.