Menu
Reply
  • 42
  • 0
  • 1
mrgeumpy152
Tuning in
801 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

packet loss

Can somebody take a look at this?

Am i reading this correctly and i am suffering huge amounts of packet loss?

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/7cf423fe2a2742254035f76a734119825f1b0e4f

  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 42
  • 0
  • 1
mrgeumpy152
Tuning in
778 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1315000000640256 qam23
2171000000740256 qam5
31790000006.940256 qam6
41870000006.640256 qam7
51950000006.540256 qam8
62030000006.540256 qam9
72110000006.140256 qam10
82190000005.940256 qam11
92270000005.540256 qam12
102350000005.540256 qam13
112430000005.540256 qam14
122510000005.840256 qam15
13259000000640256 qam16
142670000006.140256 qam17
15275000000640256 qam18
16283000000640256 qam19
17291000000640256 qam20
182990000006.440256 qam21
193070000006.140256 qam22
203230000005.940256 qam24
213790000005.540256 qam25
223870000005.340256 qam26
23395000000540256 qam27
244030000004.840256 qam28


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3790
2Locked40.99715
3Locked40.3580
4Locked40.31020
5Locked40.9870
6Locked40.3770
7Locked40.9830
8Locked40.3980
9Locked40.3760
10Locked40.3830
11Locked40.3830
12Locked40.31070
13Locked40.316738
14Locked40.3720
15Locked40.31060
16Locked40.31090
17Locked40.31080
18Locked40.31420
19Locked40.9860
20Locked40.31220
21Locked40.3930
22Locked40.911523857
23Locked40.31840
24Locked40.31070
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 42
  • 0
  • 1
mrgeumpy152
Tuning in
777 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1462000004.375512064 qam7
2603000384.5512064 qam5
3394000684.325512064 qam8
4537000144.45512064 qam6


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 42
  • 0
  • 1
mrgeumpy152
Tuning in
776 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss

Network Log

Time Priority Description

24/06/2019 10:47:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2019 10:47:28criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2019 10:47:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2019 10:47:29criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2019 10:47:33Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2019 10:49:41criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:30Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:30Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:06:14criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2019 16:38:52ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2019 22:02:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2019 05:21:13ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2019 18:03:37ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2019 12:18:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/07/2019 19:52:9Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/07/2019 22:15:46ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2019 05:50:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2019 11:30:1ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2019 00:44:19ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.3K
  • 142
  • 590
cje85
Problem sorter
752 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss

It's just a bug in the Hub 3 firmware which causes it to randomly stop responding to the pings from ThinkBroadband, causing it to show 100% packet loss. 

Your power levels etc are all fine.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.35K
  • 499
  • 1.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
747 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss


@cje85 wrote:

It's just a bug in the Hub 3 firmware which causes it to randomly stop responding to the pings from ThinkBroadband, causing it to show 100% packet loss. 

Your power levels etc are all fine.


Based on the figures posted I'm not sure everything is fine. 

Showing a high number of Post RS errors on downstream channel 22 which is not good if these are currently increasing and not just old errors.  Also the RCS Partial Service errors in the log are not a good sign and could be related to the Post RS errors.

@mrgeumpy152 I'd suggest restarting the hub to reset the error counters and then wait 24 hours to see if the Post RS errors rise rapidly on channel 22, or any other channel.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 42
  • 0
  • 1
mrgeumpy152
Tuning in
735 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss

Will do I've done a reset. 

I also rang 150 and chose the fault line. It couldn't carry out its checks properly and said there was an error and they needed to send a signal to reset the equipment. All this has been done so I will monitor for 24 hours and let you know how things go.

  • 2.3K
  • 142
  • 590
cje85
Problem sorter
692 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss

The errors on channel 22 aren't great but wouldn't cause 100% packet loss as shown on the graph. If your connection is totally dead during the period of 100% packet loss then the graph is correct, otherwise the Hub has just temporarily stopped responding. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.35K
  • 499
  • 1.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
677 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: packet loss


@cje85 wrote:

The errors on channel 22 aren't great but wouldn't cause 100% packet loss as shown on the graph. If your connection is totally dead during the period of 100% packet loss then the graph is correct, otherwise the Hub has just temporarily stopped responding. 


Sorry, I should have been clearer.  I wasn't suggesting the issue with channel 22 was causing 100% packet loss, merely that it looked unhealthy and might need looking at in case it gets worse.

I wasn't aware of a bug with the Hub 3 not responding to pings, but there are so many hub bugs I have lost track.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply