Menu
Reply
JRW95
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
200 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Unable to connect to game servers without disconnect

Hi. Had a freak internet incident yesterday with slow speeds and disconnects for multiple hours. Now the connection seems stable but I'm unable to download files from chrome or connect to UPLAY, RIOT games, or battlenet servers. I'm in a constant loop of small disconnects for game servers and downloads.

This is happening across all wifi connected devices and the hub 3 diagnostics show no issue.

It's difficult to log into the hub as the micro disconnects kick me out and then it says someone is logged in for 15+ mins while I attempt to reconnect. Hub factory reset has been carried out.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.46K
  • 2.4K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
180 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unable to connect to game servers without disconnect

Are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What Hub is it and what are the Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

Try the Hub reset again as it can be tricky to get right or takes a couple of attempts.
________________

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !
With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections (leave the co-ax connected) and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail/SIM tray “tool” or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT manually restart the Hub at any time. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings/admin one to access the Hub
See if that sorts it.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
JRW95
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
153 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unable to connect to game servers without disconnect

Thanks, but this didn't do anything 😞 - The light looks to be yellow. I ran a test when logged in and the wizard said and engineer needs to be sent so I've booked in for monday.

I've also noticed that the problem stops when a powerline adapter is being USED or is UNPLUGGED. IF the adapter is plugged in but the PC is not using it, the wifi keeps dropping for a split second and stops downloads and game connections. 

Here are my logs & downstream data to see if you can offer any insight- 

Multiple of the following error at different times:

10/04/2021 17:03:0critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

13310000000.538256 qam25
2203000000-238256 qam9
3211000000-2.238256 qam10
4219000000-1.435256 qam11
5227000000-1.536256 qam12
6235000000-0.238256 qam13
7243000000-1.238256 qam14
8251000000-4.538256 qam15
9259000000-0.538256 qam16
102670000000.740256 qam17
112750000000.438256 qam18
12283000000240256 qam19
13291000000-0.438256 qam20
14299000000138256 qam21
153070000001.540256 qam22
163150000001.540256 qam23
173230000003.240256 qam24
18339000000140256 qam26
19347000000038256 qam27
20355000000-1.538256 qam28
21363000000-0.540256 qam29
22371000000-2.238256 qam30
23379000000-3.738256 qam31
24387000000-4.738256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.919014
2Locked38.66080218
3Locked38.9662223
4Locked3555397247
5Locked36.357195282
6Locked38.61809188
7Locked38.65347325
8Locked38.673293349
9Locked38.66065200
10Locked40.940719
11Locked38.925720
12Locked40.327233
13Locked38.923845
14Locked38.616230
15Locked40.922121
16Locked40.317010
17Locked40.314511
18Locked40.323924
19Locked38.629233
20Locked38.928019
21Locked40.318123
22Locked38.934319
23Locked38.993926
24Locked38.9113437




0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.13K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.6K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
108 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unable to connect to game servers without disconnect

See what happens when the technician turns up.  It should be an easy spot for him that your power levels are all over the place, from -4.7 dBmV to +3.2 dBmV, and that's certainly related to the problem.  The Hub 3 shouldn't be showing a yellow LED, either - if it doesn't resolve when the technician has finished, and they don't replace it then and there, come back here and we'll help guide you to get that sorted.  Any guff like "they all do that" or "if it's working then the LED colour doesn't matter" is incorrect - the LED is used as the hub's overheating indicator, so if it's showing yellow or red, then it is faulty and needs to be replaced.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JRW95
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
105 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unable to connect to game servers without disconnect

Thanks, hopefully they can sort it. Not sure if I can post images here but I'm also getting strange things in my house apparently connected via ethernet when I log into the hub, such as my Samsung galaxy watch... Obviously that's impossible

 

What should I be telling my engineer when they arrive?

0 Kudos
Reply
Laurie_C
  • 424
  • 18
  • 42
Forum Team
Forum Team
55 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unable to connect to game servers without disconnect

Hi JRW95,

 

Thanks for getting in touch and welcome to the Community Forum!

 

How did your engineer appointment go? Do you still need our help with this?

 

Please let us know how you got on.

 

Thanks,

Laurie

Laurie_C
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply