Menu
Reply
Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,456 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

For months now I have had my Stadia connection intermittently go from 'excellent' to 'unstable game may stop' then back to 'excellent'.

The problem occurs during peak hours. The severity of the issue varies daily.

The problem is the same from using Stadia from the chrome browser on my ethernet wire connected PC and the wifi connected Chromecast Ultra in my living room TV.

The issue doesn't occur if I switch to playing Stadia on my phone using mobile data during the times it occurs on the aforementioned devices.

I have tried troubleshooting everything my end and I firmly believe the issue is with the internet connection itself.

I would very much appreciate any help or suggestions on this matter.

0 Kudos
Reply
Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,408 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000-1.240256 qam21
2250750000-140256 qam15
3258750000-1.240256 qam16
4266750000-1.240256 qam17
5274750000-1.440256 qam18
6282750000-1.240256 qam19
7290750000-1.240256 qam20
8306750000-1.440256 qam22
9314750000-1.540256 qam23
10322750000-1.740256 qam24
11330750000-240256 qam25
12370750000-2.540256 qam26
13378750000-2.740256 qam27
14386750000-2.540256 qam28
15394750000-2.540256 qam29
16402750000-2.540256 qam30
17410750000-2.540256 qam31
18418750000-2.740256 qam32
19426750000-2.740256 qam33
20434750000-2.740256 qam34
21442750000-2.540256 qam35
22450750000-2.440256 qam36
23458750000-2.440256 qam37
24466750000-240256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9230
2Locked40.960
3Locked40.980
4Locked40.3110
5Locked40.9110
6Locked40.360
7Locked40.980
8Locked40.9240
9Locked40.3210
10Locked40.960
11Locked40.3120
12Locked40.380
13Locked40.990
14Locked40.360
15Locked40.950
16Locked40.370
17Locked40.9130
18Locked40.3150
19Locked40.3180
20Locked40.3240
21Locked40.390
22Locked40.3210
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.350
0 Kudos
Reply
Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,406 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000041.8512064 qam7
23260000041.5512064 qam8
34620000042.3512064 qam6
45370000042.3512064 qam5


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,405 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Network LogTime Priority Description
01/01/1970 16:33:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 15:41:38ErrorToD request sent- No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 15:40:3noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 14:39:39ErrorToD request sent- No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 14:38:40noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.
0 Kudos
Reply
Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,391 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d48c19f70581fd67f007b0719ce0b7a74d79935

Live BQM 

0 Kudos
Reply
chrismcevoy72
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
2,320 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Just adding my +1 to this.  Despite having a 350mbps package, my Stadia connection is frequently unreliable.  Either dropping down to low image quality of warnings about unstable connection....

Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,312 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Exactly the same boat I am in. I got an upgrade from 100mbps to 350mbps and it made absolutely no difference. I have an engineer coming to have a look in 4 days. If it isn't sorted by then I am going to switch internet service providers.

From what I have read on this forum it is because there are too many people using the same lines. Something Virgin has to fix their end.

Gutted though as it means I will have to wait the two weeks from this coming Friday for the new internet service provider to be set up and that means I will have to hold off playing Cyberpunk.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2,302 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

@Chrisjv84 Your expectations are correct - the BQM shows what (by VM standards) is a middling level of "over-utilisation".  There's a chance this may self-resolve if it is purely caused by lockdown, but there's nothing a field technician can do to resolve it because there's a lot more to fixing over-utilisation than changing the tap used in your local cabinet.

And waiting for it to self-resolve may take many months.  Because the BQM doesn't look severe, I'd hazard a guess that VM won't ever formally recognise that as over-utilisation, and the "fix" will either be:

  • Nothing.  The problem remains.
  • Covid panic ends, traffic levels fall, your local network comes back within its operating capacity.
  • Roll out of DOCSIS 3.1 and widespread issue of Hub 4's increases available capacity and resolves issue.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Chrisjv84
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,294 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Thanks for looking at my issue @Andruser.

I have read your replies on other posts and that has led me to having an understanding of the problem.

It looks like changing ISP is the best way forward. Could you please recommend one that would be good to switch to? 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
2,278 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stadia 'connection unstable' intermittently, worse at peak times

Well, given that the over-utilisation is moderate, it may be worth waiting until say mid January, because it could sort itself out, the unfortunate thing is that because VM won't be open about these matters it is impossible to take an informed judgement.

If you go down new ISP route, check if you're liable for any VM early termination fees because you're in a fixed term contract, and make sure you speak to a competent ISP (AAISP, uno, Aquiss, IDNet, CIX, Zen Internet) to establish your expected speed and whether there's any existing contention (over-utilisation) issues on the Openreach network around you.  Failure to do the first could land you with a big bill, failure to do the second could mean you jump ship and find the situation is no better, but your broadband is slower.  User @aj26 has adopted the strategy of having a connection with uno for low latency applications alongside a VM gigabit connection for sluggish but high bandwidth purposes - see the two BQM here.  

Those named ISP's have excellent and long standing reputations for good customer service.  Check their customer's reviews on Trustpilot and ISPReview (along with VM for comparison).  I can personally vouch for Zen as I manage the technology for an elderly relative, and Zen have been excellent, but you'll see the other named suppliers have even better reviews.  And amongst the technical cognescenti, AAISP is the number one choice.  

All of these use Openreach, and you might be thinking "but I could get a stonkingly cheap deal with Sky instead, and they use Openreach".  If there's neither reason to contact the ISP, and no technical problems, then the big ISPs are fine.  When you need to contact them and the chips are down, that's when you find out why it is worth paying a few quid more to be with a company that care.  And there is also a country mile between the ability to get the best out of Openreach when comparing these smaller, customer focused ISPs with the big commodity players whose business model is like VM - sales and marketing led, with service a resentful afterthought. 

Good luck whichever way you call it.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks