Menu
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
OneArmBandit
Joining in
310 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Ping keeps dipping

Hi guys,

 

I play Oldschool Runescape mostly at the moment as I am unable to play console games anymore due to having a bike accident in September and losing the use of my left arm. I recently swapped to virgin media 100mb fibre with the hub 3 as it saved us some money on our old BT broadband whilst being faster. I have never experienced ping spikes like I am now when i was with BT and this is irritating as it is every other minute or so and makes me not want to play as it involves me needing to click places to move my character frantically. This is impossible with random ping spikes which can cause me to get killed or miss opportunities in game. The ping sits at 9-11ms then spikes to the hundreds or thousands and then back in a couple of seconds.

I have forwarded ports for them in the router settings yet it says they are not open. I dont understand why these ping spikes are happening. Any help is appreciated and please be patient with me as I may not understand what you may want e to do or post.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.48K
  • 210
  • 610
Andruser
Knows their stuff
294 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

Could be a number of things, but as a first attempt at troubleshooting, I suggest you set up a broadband quality monitor over at Thinkbroadband.com

Let that run for 24-48 hours, and it'll show if there's obvious problems with the cable connection to your hub.  If that's clean, then there's other checks and tests, but I suggest this as the easiest way of trying to fathom out what's happening.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
OneArmBandit
Joining in
283 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

Thanks mate, ive done that already so ill post a pic of it here in a couple of days. It is an old cable so i hope it not that as it will mean paying an engineer coming in to re install a new cable and the current one is quite tucked away. I would then hope that rectifies the issue or it would be wasted money!

Anything i can test that i already havent that could help show what is causing it?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.06K
  • 481
  • 1.31K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
275 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping


@OneArmBandit wrote:

Thanks mate, ive done that already so ill post a pic of it here in a couple of days. It is an old cable so i hope it not that as it will mean paying an engineer coming in to re install a new cable and the current one is quite tucked away. I would then hope that rectifies the issue or it would be wasted money!


If there is a fault with the VM cabling then they will fix it for free, as part of what you are paying for is the upkeep of their equipment regardless of age.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
OneArmBandit
Joining in
273 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

ok wicked thanks for the note! any other ideas on why its happening? i feel like the sky box is sucking all of the internet as now its not being used it seems better
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.48K
  • 210
  • 610
Andruser
Knows their stuff
195 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

None of us can say with any confidence why these things sometimes drift out of spec, but often the problem can be more precisely identified than just lag when gaming, and if it a problem on VM's network, and the staff know where to start there's a better chance of a quick fix.  However, bear in mind that the reason for suggesting a BQM trace is because there's a fair chance that it might be nothing to do with Virgin Media, such as a wider internet traffic routing or server connectivity or load management problem.

If you're champing at the bit to do something, connect to your hub, click on "Check router status", and post the Upstream, Downstream and Network logs tabs here, although that might be wasted effort if all the stats are OK and the problem's outside VM's control.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
OneArmBandit
Joining in
162 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11390000007.438256 qam1
21470000006.838256 qam2
31550000007.137256 qam3
41630000006.637256 qam4
51710000006.838256 qam5
61790000006.438256 qam6
71870000006.538256 qam7
8195000000638256 qam8
92030000005.538256 qam9
102110000005.537256 qam10
112190000005.438256 qam11
122270000005.138256 qam12
13235000000538256 qam13
142430000004.638256 qam14
152510000004.538256 qam15
162590000004.638256 qam16
172670000004.537256 qam17
182750000005.538256 qam18
19283000000538256 qam19
20291000000638256 qam20
212990000005.338256 qam21
22307000000638256 qam22
233150000005.538256 qam23
243230000004.938256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.660729784036
2Locked38.6360002654
3Locked37.635085610929
4Locked37.6700092103450
5Locked38.6181341426
6Locked38.6851975114667
7Locked38.643539312510
8Locked38.9139921377
9Locked38.688751050
10Locked37.63511393
11Locked38.62867394
12Locked38.66152275
13Locked38.66517426
14Locked38.62386267
15Locked38.62252260
16Locked38.62227255
17Locked37.911613332
18Locked38.66103484
19Locked38.62612166
20Locked38.91240210
21Locked38.9700593
22Locked38.62620243
23Locked38.651495
24Locked38.9527196

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000004.2512064 qam41
2462000004.1512064 qam43
3537000004.15512064 qam42
4394000004.025512064 qam44



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

01/01/1970 00:02:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2019 17:40:32noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
16/11/2019 17:43:6ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
16/11/2019 17:43:10noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
16/11/2019 17:45:22noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
16/11/2019 17:45:22noticeTouchstone SW Upgrade Reboot Delayed due to Call in Progress;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2019 20:47:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2019 01:24:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:02:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2019 09:05:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

i like to believe this above warning is something wrong so any tips on how to fix it would be appreciated! i done a reset last night but the warning persists.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.06K
  • 481
  • 1.31K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
151 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

The high number of Post RS errors on several of the downstream channels are not good and combined with the "RCS Partial Service" errors suggest a fault with your line.

This will probably need a technician to visit and investigate the cause of the errors.  You can call VM and try to book a visit or wait for the forum team to get to this thread and they can help you book a visit if they deem it necessary.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
OneArmBandit
Joining in
142 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

Scott, i appreciate your help and quick reply! My brother is an IT technician by day and he will be visiting Thursday so I will wait for him to come over then and he can also take a look at this for me. I knew something was weird but i only know so much. If you or anyone has any ideas on what could be causing this (in more detail) then please post a reply as it will be good for him to read when he gets here. Its odd as when i check the wireless connections when logged onto the router it says my laptop isnt getting any mbps and an iphone is getting 100-600+. I hope this is fairly easy to fix as i had grief from my mums husband about virgin being bad and he was reluctant to swap over! I will also be streaming to twitch on this internet but that will be a wired connection so that should cut out any issues.

Again thank you Scott!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.76K
  • 94
  • 178
Forum Team
Forum Team
135 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping keeps dipping

Hi,

 

Thank you for coming to us, I am sorry to hear about the issues you are having.

 

I have done some diagnostic checks my end and I cannot see any issues all the levels look fine, please come back to us once brother has been round and let us know how you get on.

 

Regards

 

Paul.

0 Kudos
Reply