Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
584 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss

Posting here as phoning customer service is no use. Past few days I've been getting packet loss where my internet won't go down fully but I can't play a game or browse web watch video until the packet loss goes away. I use my Xbox wired with Ethernet straight to the hub so I know it's not on my end. Here's a BQM showing the packet loss and I'll post my Hub Log aswell 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
582 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
540 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Network status
Router status
Status
Downstream
Upstream
Configuration
Network Log
Refresh data
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 -0.2 38 256 qam 21
2 139000000 -3.2 38 256 qam 1
3 147000000 -2.5 38 256 qam 2
4 155000000 -2.2 38 256 qam 3
5 163000000 -2.7 40 256 qam 4
6 171000000 -1.7 40 256 qam 5
7 179000000 -1.7 38 256 qam 6
8 187000000 -1.7 38 256 qam 7
9 195000000 -0.7 40 256 qam 8
10 203000000 -1.5 40 256 qam 9
11 211000000 -0.7 40 256 qam 10
12 219000000 -1 40 256 qam 11
13 227000000 -0.9 38 256 qam 12
14 235000000 -0.4 40 256 qam 13
15 243000000 -0.7 40 256 qam 14
16 251000000 -0.7 40 256 qam 15
17 259000000 -0.2 40 256 qam 16
18 267000000 -1.4 38 256 qam 17
19 275000000 0 40 256 qam 18
20 283000000 -1.2 38 256 qam 19
21 291000000 0.2 40 256 qam 20
22 307000000 -0.5 40 256 qam 22
23 315000000 0.5 40 256 qam 23
24 323000000 -0.9 40 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 14333 1446
2 Locked 38.9 2223831 528244
3 Locked 38.6 333725 59178
4 Locked 38.9 964771 333158
5 Locked 40.3 2083230 751064
6 Locked 40.3 116846 16847
7 Locked 38.9 1866446 518947
8 Locked 38.9 988209 227734
9 Locked 40.3 18169 2447
10 Locked 40.9 12728 2052
11 Locked 40.3 9730 1850
12 Locked 40.3 9459 1797
13 Locked 38.9 11150 1874
14 Locked 40.9 9077 1915
15 Locked 40.3 9395 1933
16 Locked 40.3 7543 1825
17 Locked 40.3 7863 1910
18 Locked 38.9 25224 2012
19 Locked 40.3 12034 1637
20 Locked 38.9 11886 1638
21 Locked 40.3 7856 1266
22 Locked 40.3 10379 1228
23 Locked 40.3 7336 1317
24 Locked 40.3 6720 1184

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 60300000 5.1 5120 64 qam 1
2 46200000 5.1 5120 64 qam 3
3 53700000 5.1 5120 64 qam 2
4 39400000 5.1 5120 64 qam 4


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

The power levels were not like this the other day downstream was a little higher and  upstream was low 40s 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.54K
  • 569
  • 1.4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
517 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Upstream power is too high, which might explain things, including the packet loss and high error counts.  Reboot the hub, see if that helps (probably won't but ALWAYS worth a try).  If post-RS error counts continue to creep up again after they've been zeroed during the reboot, or upstream power remains at those levels (or you see upstream channels dropping back from the required 4 channels at 64 QAM) then there's some form of line or equipment fault.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
513 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Tried restarting since it started few days ago it's weird it happens worse from like 7-12 at night. Also been checking the power levels keep going changing and going back to normal as packet loss comes and goes seems be getting worse 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.01K
  • 167
  • 278
Forum Team
Forum Team
465 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Hi Liamlyon96,

 

I've taken a look at your details and can see that you've spoken to an agent since you last posted and I've checked your network details and they are all fine and the levels are within range. Please let us know if you're still having issues so we can take another look.

 

Thanks,

 

Lisa

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
445 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Was fine in between the talking to agent and getting new router and so far so good just set up new monitor for new hub so will report back if it goes bad again .

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
439 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Also when I play warzone on console the ping is really high and bad jitter I'm talking like 60-90 but when I'm playing the multiplayer version of call of duty the ping is low around 30-40, anyway my packets to the warzone server is not taking the fastest route causing bad latency 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.25K
  • 135
  • 190
Forum Team
Forum Team
367 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Thanks for the update, how are things today? 

 

Thanks, Emily.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 57
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
358 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

It's been alright still getting high ping in warzone even in modem mode lol 

0 Kudos
Reply