Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
461 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss when gaming

Hi all

My connection has been stable for the past few months but this last week has been awful. Whenever I play a game on my PC my ping to the server goes through the roof and I start getting packet loss, the real strange thing for me is that it also affects the connection for the rest of the family. As if my gaming is somehow causing high ping at the modem.

I didnt believe it till I looked at my BQM 

That was the other evening when I was trying to play a game

And then today is just intermittent high pings that make gaming impossible

Help 😞

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
454 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss when gaming

Downstream levels are as follows

 

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
12030000002.938256 qam9
21390000004.538256 qam1
31470000004.938256 qam2
41550000005.138256 qam3
51630000004.538256 qam4
61710000004.438256 qam5
7179000000438256 qam6
81870000003.938256 qam7
91950000003.438256 qam8
10211000000338256 qam10
112190000002.738256 qam11
122270000002.438256 qam12
13235000000238256 qam13
142430000001.738256 qam14
152510000001.538256 qam15
162590000001.738256 qam16
172670000001.738256 qam17
182750000000.938256 qam18
192830000001.538256 qam19
202910000002.538256 qam20
212990000003.438256 qam21
223070000003.538256 qam22
233150000003.538256 qam23
243230000003.738256 qam24

 

Downstream bonded channels

ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1Locked38.600
2Locked38.650
3Locked38.650
4Locked38.950
5Locked38.600
6Locked38.900
7Locked38.600
8Locked38.600
9Locked38.600
10Locked38.940
11Locked38.650
12Locked38.600
13Locked38.600
14Locked38.900
15Locked38.600
16Locked38.6750
17Locked38.650
18Locked38.980
19Locked38.670
20Locked38.960
21Locked38.650
22Locked38.900
23Locked38.600
24Locked38.600

 

And upstream

 

Upstream bonded channels

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
1394000023.925512064 qam4
2258000143.925512064 qam6
3326000043.925512064 qam5
4461999933.925512064 qam3

Upstream bonded channels

ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.48K
  • 1.84K
  • 3.05K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
449 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss when gaming

All those stats look spot on.
Post up the network logs as well - for the same period as your BQM.
How are you "connecting" ?
Have you tried a new Cat6 cable directly from Hub to gaming device?
Do you have any powerlines in the loop?
Any ethernet switches ?

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
445 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss when gaming

Thanks for the quick response, to answer your questions

There is only this one entry in the logs that looks anything remotely bad.

07/02/2020 01:47:39 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

I have a Netgeat R6300v2 router plugged into the the virgin hub (working in modem mode) and my gaming pc is connecting to the switch on the router.

There are powerplugs in my network, but not between my gaming pc and the modem.

One interesting thing that I have noticed is that after there are times when I cannot connect back to the http interface for the modem.

All the problems seem to go away for a while after a reboot of the modem and I am able to reconnect to the web interface again.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.63K
  • 216
  • 278
Forum Team
Forum Team
305 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss when gaming

Hi feneath, 

 

Thanks for popping back, 

 

Really sorry this has already been asked, just want to be 100% can you let me know if you are connected to the third party router via Ethernet or WiFi?

 

If wireless, your increased usage during these periods of gaming, could indeed be impacting these devices on your network as wireless requests need to queue and Ethernet is instant.

 

As you've indicated the problems disappear for a while with a reboot, have you tried a pin hole reset?

 

We've had a look at the back end of your services and the network and can't see anything that jumps out or causes concern. As we've not heard from you since Saturday how have things been since?

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
276 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss when gaming

Hi Alex

Thanks for getting back to me, I can report that since Sunday the service has returned to normal. 

Regards

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.64K
  • 184
  • 251
Forum Team
Forum Team
242 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss when gaming

We're glad to hear that all is sorted.

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply