Menu
Reply
JFoxy
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
493 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

Hi all,

Firstly, appreciate anyone who reads through my post and especially anyone who replies.

I’ve been suffering from a stutter during online gaming. It appears that it is mostly to do with COD Warzone but I’m here because I don’t know the cause and can’t narrow it down. On COD Warzone, packet loss/burst is indicated by 3 yellow/orange squares on the left of the screen.

My setup is:

Lenovo Legion 5P (15ARH05H) Laptop – BIOS FSCN11WW

AMD Ryzen 7 4800H

RTX 2060

16GB RAM (8GB Kingston, 8GB Samsung)

237GB C:Drive, 931GB D:Drive

Windows 10 (21H2 19044.1415)

Super Hub 3, running in router mode. 15m Cat6 Ethernet Cable.

I’ve read about puma chipsets, micro stutters on the 15ARH05H laptop to do with the BIOS settings, packet burst issues with COD and anything I can find on the subject. Which is why I’ll probably post this is multiple forums. 

It does appear that there are quite a number of people suffering from issues like this on Virgin Media and actually looking at my old posts, I suffered with packet loss and stuttering in 2019 at a different property on Apex Legends. I had completely forgotten about this and don’t know what the solution was.

So far I have tried:

  • Playing on 1m cable in case it was the 15m cable.
  • Playing with the router in modem mode and connected via ethernet. Appeared to improve but still experienced stutters. Only played 3 games like this. It wasn’t stutter free by any means.
  • Updated Ethernet drivers.
  • Played on WiFi.
  • Played other games and don’t seem to suffer with the same issue. Halo Infinite, League of Legends, Forza Horizon 4, Gears of War Tactics, Ori and the Blind Forest. So is it purely the COD game?
  • Tried different GPU drivers with no improvement. 
  • Been through multiple Windows 10 updates. No change.
  • Tried benchmarking after each change to track issues but nothing appeared to point at anything being a problem regards hardware. 
  • Changing on-demand texture streaming to “Disabled” within COD settings.
  • Played at a friends house over WiFi. This was the best it had been for months. 3 games played. 2 were stutter free. The other game experienced a small amount of lag but I did play over WiFi. So does this point at an internet issue at my house?

Could it be a combination of my internet with COD?

I set up a BQM the other day and played COD last night (4th of Jan) and it was very laggy. Looking at the BQM, there are loads of spikes in ping and a couple bits of packet loss. It points to the internet being a problem. Having looked at previous gaming clips I recorded. My ping is much lower and a lot more stable than it is now, so this won’t help. Although the clip doesn’t really show my game spiking with the in-game latency reading, I did notice 150ms at some points.

BQM image for 4th of Jan.

3bc38e87c31065ccf6513084e54dd23b4dad8fed-04-01-2022.png

Video of stutter vs no stutter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmrNblkbwrs&ab_channel=ArrestedFox

Before this started, the connection for gaming was incredible. I've only been at this property for 6 months, the past 2-3 months have been quite poor for COD gaming. 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
483 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JFoxy
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
464 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the response. 

I did mean to post this. Woops. 

I'll do it when I'm home tonight.

Cheers. 

0 Kudos
Reply
JFoxy
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
446 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

133100000010.340256 qam25
2203000000940256 qam9
3211000000940256 qam10
42190000009.140256 qam11
52270000009.340256 qam12
62350000009.440256 qam13
72430000009.340256 qam14
82510000009.440256 qam15
92590000009.540256 qam16
102670000009.840256 qam17
112750000009.940256 qam18
122830000001040256 qam19
132910000001040256 qam20
1429900000010.440256 qam21
1530700000010.540256 qam22
1631500000010.540256 qam23
1732300000010.340256 qam24
1833900000010.540256 qam26
1934700000010.540256 qam27
2035500000010.540256 qam28
2136300000010.540256 qam29
2237100000010.540256 qam30
2337900000010.640256 qam31
2438700000010.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3180
2Locked40.3290
3Locked40.3200
4Locked40.9130
5Locked40.3200
6Locked40.3150
7Locked40.9140
8Locked40.3250
9Locked40.3520
10Locked40.3150
11Locked40.3150
12Locked40.3190
13Locked40.3130
14Locked40.3220
15Locked40.9120
16Locked40.3170
17Locked40.3150
18Locked40.9150
19Locked40.3230
20Locked40.3400
21Locked40.9300
22Locked40.3120
23Locked40.3170
24Locked40.3100
0 Kudos
Reply
JFoxy
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
444 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

12580000038.8512064 qam4
23260000038.8512064 qam3
33940000038.8512064 qam2
44620000038.8512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0020
0 Kudos
Reply
JFoxy
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
442 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

06/01/2022 09:34:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2022 21:11:1noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2022 15:53:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2022 09:34:40noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2022 09:34:40ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/01/2022 02:41:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2022 15:07:25noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2022 14:02:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2021 12:18:13noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2021 12:17:52Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2021 11:42:59noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2021 11:42:59ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 10:04:9criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 02:37:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2021 12:36:45noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2021 12:36:45ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2021 14:48:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2021 00:36:45noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2021 00:36:45ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
JFoxy
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
438 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

A BQM to match the time that the router status were posted. 

3bc38e87c31065ccf6513084e54dd23b4dad8fed-06-01-2022.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 5.62K
  • 461
  • 1.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
372 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?


@JFoxy wrote:

A BQM to match the time that the router status were posted.   <snip>


Still looking like over utilisation at peak hours.  However your Downstream power is too high, range should be -6 to +10.   A VM technician will be needed to fix this.  Either phone this in or wait here a day or two for a VM Mod to pick this up.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 2.97K
  • 99
  • 205
Forum Team
Forum Team
364 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

Hi @JFoxy,

Welcome back to our Community Forums! Thank you for your post, and I'm sorry to see that you're experiencing some ongoing connection issues while playing online games.

I have been able to locate your account and I can see that there are some ongoing power level issues on your downstream connection. Unfortunately, we're unable to resolve this issue remotely, so we would need to book in a technician appointment to look into this further for you. 

In order to do this, I will send you a Private Message which you can access by clicking the purple envelope at the top right corner of your Forum page. I will be in touch soon.

Thank you.

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 2.97K
  • 99
  • 205
Forum Team
Forum Team
307 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss/burst/stutter. COD Warzone?

Hi @JFoxy,

Thank you for coming back to me via private message and confirming your details. I have now booked you a technician visit for your ongoing disconnection issue – you can check and amend the date and time of your appointment via your online account.

There will be no charge for this visit unless:
•    The technician diagnoses the faults as not being caused by our network/equipment 
•    The technician discovers that the fault or problem relates to your equipment
•    The technician discovers that the fault or problem relates to any system that we are not responsible for
The technician will confirm during their visit if any of these instances apply, and if so, a £25 charge will be applied to your account. 
Please ensure there is someone over the age of 18 present at the time of the visit. If you need to change or cancel your appointment you can do this online or via the MyVM app by 4pm the day before the appointment.
If you do miss an agreed appointment for any reason, a £25 missed appointment charge will be applied to your account on the day of the appointment.

Thank you.

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply