Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
514 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss and Jitter.

Getting small periods of packet loss and also consistent ping spikes/jitter. Along with the odd download speed tanking for a period of time.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/765eb651e8662671f3de2d151b6a582b8b...

todaytoday

And here's a live graph.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/7f4a0fb9f96e41416b72cf0966ff04cd21... 

Is there anything i can do to help this issue? Or can someone from VM help.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.39K
  • 378
  • 927
Problem sorter
467 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

Edited from my response to a similar post earlier:

1) The BQM measures all performance issues between the Thinkbroadband servers and your cable modem, and for this reason (amongst others) it isn't a diagnostic tool officially recognised by VM, useful though it is for many.  So VM may not accept this as evidence of a problem, and sometimes (rarely, but I have seen it) problems that are clearly visible are not on the VM network - looking at your BQM my intuition is that this is a problem with your cable connection.

2) This maybe an area fault (forum staff can advise), in which case it should have a problem reference and a resolution date.

3) It is possible that you've got a local performance problem on the segment between your cable modem and the local cabinet.  This could show up as any combination of low speeds, high latency or jitter, loss of connection, high error levels, poor SNR, out-of-range power levels, loss of upstream modulation, or serious errors in the hub's log like RCS Partial Service, T3 timeouts or loss of synchronisation reports (a few errors are OK - it's when there's a lot of them that you have a problem).  If you connect to the hub and post the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network logs tabs here we'll have a go at spotting any obvious problems.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
421 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500003.440256 qam25
22027500001.238256 qam9
32107500001.238256 qam10
42187500001.438256 qam11
52267500001.538256 qam12
6234750000238256 qam13
72427500002.238256 qam14
82507500002.238256 qam15
9258750000238256 qam16
102667500001.538256 qam17
11274750000138256 qam18
122827500000.938256 qam19
132907500001.238256 qam20
142987500001.938256 qam21
153067500002.538256 qam22
163147500002.738256 qam23
173227500002.738256 qam24
184107500003.238256 qam26
194187500003.240256 qam27
20426750000340256 qam28
214347500002.940256 qam29
224427500003.240256 qam30
234507500003.240256 qam31
244587500003.540256 qam32

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.335330
2Locked38.6405688296523414
3Locked38.9423464434204960
4Locked38.9457220232789364
5Locked38.9446346335412449
6Locked38.9386844784050433
7Locked38.625802666723515
8Locked38.913949255586609
9Locked38.68825265270005
10Locked38.617907614246597
11Locked38.91443478451830
12Locked38.91147957966092
13Locked38.9947586141487
14Locked38.61321554786116
15Locked38.9905743544393
16Locked38.9682089419775
17Locked38.6526873111050
18Locked38.934750
19Locked40.935760
20Locked40.949440
21Locked40.988650
22Locked40.3241850
23Locked40.3132450
24Locked40.380990

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000135.1512064 qam1
2461999635.1512064 qam2
3394001315.1512064 qam3
4326001295.1512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

Also i have no idea why but my BQM graph indicates an internet outage however the internet hasn't gone down at all. (I'm on right now)

69a849e0e3f488c62ccb462d641daec5c3c6afd8-05-01-2020.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 590
  • 28
  • 113
Rising star
419 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

Upstream power levels look too high and you've got very high error levels on downstream. Might be worth resetting the hub to check how quick the downstream errors are happening, but would assume you'll need an engineer visit

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
361 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

Restarted the hub last night at around midnight.

Levels now (6:14pm)

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500002.740256 qam25
2202750000138256 qam9
32107500000.938256 qam10
42187500000.738256 qam11
52267500000.738256 qam12
62347500000.938256 qam13
72427500001.238256 qam14
82507500001.538256 qam15
92587500001.538256 qam16
102667500001.238256 qam17
112747500000.738256 qam18
122827500000.538256 qam19
132907500000.538256 qam20
142987500001.238256 qam21
153067500001.538256 qam22
163147500001.738256 qam23
173227500001.938256 qam24
184107500002.738256 qam26
194187500002.740256 qam27
204267500002.540256 qam28
214347500002.240256 qam29
224427500002.538256 qam30
234507500002.540256 qam31
244587500002.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3980
2Locked38.915611
3Locked38.6927
4Locked38.9240
5Locked38.9190
6Locked38.9290
7Locked38.9300
8Locked38.9270
9Locked38.628815
10Locked38.923513
11Locked38.61110
12Locked38.6800
13Locked38.9470
14Locked38.6640
15Locked38.6650
16Locked38.9650
17Locked38.9640
18Locked38.9860
19Locked40.31030
20Locked40.31130
21Locked40.31240
22Locked38.61530
23Locked40.31720
24Locked40.32180

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000585.025512064 qam1
2461998924.85512064 qam2
3394000004.775512064 qam3
4325998904.65512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Again my BQM Graph is showing red again, i have no idea why. It used to work perfectly.

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/7f4a0fb9f96e41416b72cf0966ff04cd21...

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.39K
  • 378
  • 927
Problem sorter
356 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

As tonycv51 said, upstream power levels were a problem, and although they've improved a bit, one channel is still too high - this causes problems with the downstream performance because cable technology requires  your hub to retain synchronisation on all of the 24 down and 4 up channels.  Your error levels are still too high (you should only see a handful of post-RS errors after weeks or months of continuously powered-on operation), showing that there's a noise problem somewhere.  Suggest you wait on the forum staff to pick this up and advise.

Regarding the red blocks when the router is clearly working, that's a firmware issue with the Hub 3 that sometimes it will stop responding to external ping requests for hours (sometimes days) and then decides to resume service of its own accord.  Most of us see this from time to time.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 663
  • 33
  • 73
Forum Team
Forum Team
345 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

Hi sickandtiredtwo,

 

Thank you for your post, I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your broadband. I will happily take a look into this for you. I will pop you a private message asking for some details keep an eye out for the purple envelope. 

Many thanks,

Zoie_P

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.28K
  • 133
  • 285
Forum Team
Forum Team
291 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and Jitter.

Thanks so much for popping back to Zoie's Private Message @sickandtiredtwo - she is currently out of the office so I've picked it up in her absence 🙂 

 

Thought I'd pop back to the public thread to keep you and our users updated.

 

I've gone through some in depth diagnostics from this end for you - at the time of writing we can see it's been around 3 days since a reboot and currently we have no errors showing and all signal levels are well within the parameters we would expect. 

 

I have also take a quick look at the live BQM graph and other than the red block where the Hub has stopped responding to the ping request I'm not able to see any major issues at the moment. 

 

I will still pop a copy over to the Area Manager to see if he thinks it;s anything to worry about or if he can see something in the area that may be causing your issue. I'll be back in the office on Monday so will pop you an update as and when I have one. 

 

In the meantime, please do try the reboot and keep us updated with how your service is at your end. 

 

Cheers

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply