Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
109 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss & Latency issues

Good morning all,

So I've been reading up on why I may be getting extreme packet loss issues as well as occasional latency problems on Warzone for the XBOX One and I don't appear to be alone. My issues started around a month ago which is around the same time as I renewed my contract going up from 100mb to 350mb. I have a number of wireless devices which are all on the 2.4ghz setting and I leave my xbox on the 5ghz. I've even tried an ethernet cable and still get the same amount of packet loss which is basically every game.

I've started a BQM a little over 24 Hours ago which is linked below hopefully;

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/25b58027bd8e9cf2d005d3432a7a43cf2ad77f65

I played for around an hour from 7.45am and then again for half an hour from 2.15pm if this helps.

I would hugely appreciate anyone who could have a quick scan over my graph, I believe I'm interpreting it correctly when I see packet loss problems. I've done a speed test on the 2.4ghz connection and it averages 54mb where as the 5ghz is 360+ so that baffles me a little as well considering not many of the connected devices are actually running.

I dont get a huge amount of time to play on the xbox as it is and this issue is just destroying it for me 😞

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.33K
  • 736
  • 1.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
97 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Packet loss & Latency issues

The BQM isn't showing the sort of paralysing packet loss your post implies.  There's four instances (the red that comes down from the top axis), and three of those look like disconnections or hub restarts.  What your BQM looks like to me is mid level over-utilisation (so too much traffic on your local network), and that hammers latency because traffic is briefly queued at some pinch point, typically your local CMTS.  In a gaming scenario a delayed packet might appear as packet loss, because "out of sequence" data is useless.  Given the timing, I would hazard a guess that your local segment is very close to capacity in normal times and our latest lockdown has caused internet traffic to just creep over the top of the available bandwidth.  In that case, your best hope is that things quieten down when this bout of lockdown ends (until the next one, whilst the imbeciles of government flap around hopelessly).  If it is "Covid over-utilisation" VM are very unlikely to do anything, because it makes no sense to spend money fixing a problem that will hopefully go away.

Alternatively this could be because when you upgraded  (what were you hoping to achieve?) the power levels have drifted out, which appears to happen sometimes for no logical reason I can think of, and if you post your hub's data for Downstream, Upstream and Network log we can have a look at that.  Make sure that you post this data before you do a restart or reset, as that clears the hub's error counters, and we're interested in what they show.

I presume you've done the usual of power-cycling the hub, checking the connections, and trying (once) a pinhole reset of the hub?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
90 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss & Latency issues

Hi Andruser,

Thanks for the quick response. I know my BQM isn't as extreme as some others I've seen but Warzone has been unplayable for the last month which as you say, could be as a result of yet another lockdown.

I upgraded purely because it was £0.50p extra a month for more TV channels and faster internet.

I've gone as a far as rebooting my router every morning, endless factory resets, I've even factory reset my xbox and installed the game again and nothing's changed so far. My last option is to move my router into my bedroom as i have a port here for some reason and keep it on ethernet cable rather than Wi-Fi.

As requested, here's my logs and again, thanks for your time.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1291000000538256 qam20
2139000000938256 qam1
31470000007.938256 qam2
4155000000838256 qam3
5163000000838256 qam4
61710000007.538256 qam5
71790000007.638256 qam6
81870000007.538256 qam7
9195000000738256 qam8
102030000006.538256 qam9
112110000006.138256 qam10
122190000005.938256 qam11
13227000000537256 qam12
14235000000538256 qam13
152430000004.837256 qam14
162510000003.537256 qam15
17259000000437256 qam16
182670000004.138256 qam17
19275000000337256 qam18
20283000000437256 qam19
212990000004.538256 qam21
22307000000538256 qam22
233150000005.538256 qam23
243230000004.838256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.640
2Locked38.6170
3Locked38.6130
4Locked38.6170
5Locked38.6200
6Locked38.900
7Locked38.630
8Locked38.950
9Locked38.940
10Locked38.660
11Locked38.940
12Locked38.650
13Locked37.600
14Locked38.950
15Locked37.650
16Locked37.370
17Locked37.650
18Locked38.600
19Locked37.600
20Locked37.3130
21Locked38.600
22Locked38.650
23Locked38.600
24Locked38.60

0



0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
89 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss & Latency issues

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000737.3512064 qam2
22580000035.8512064 qam4
33260000037.3512064 qam3
44620002937.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

17/11/2020 07:31:58noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 21:54:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 11:59:26noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 11:55:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 11:18:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 09:42:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 09:42:46noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:40:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:05:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/11/2020 08:43:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 17:26:9noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 17:26:9ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:08:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 18:08:12noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/11/2020 11:17:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/11/2020 07:18:10noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/11/2020 07:18:10ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 14:53:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2020 12:33:0noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 08:44:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.33K
  • 736
  • 1.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
69 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Packet loss & Latency issues

Nothing really stands out in the stats.  Power levels, SNR and modulation are all within limits, and although there were a few too many T3 timeouts on 16 November, previous days don't appear to show a continuing problem.  One thing I do spot is that the range of downstream power levels is high, from 3 dBmV to 9 dBmV, and I suspect that isn't ideal, but the acceptable range across channels isn't something VM will be drawn on.

At the moment it's looking like (hopefully) short term over-utilisation.  And I believe that unless it's an enduring problem that's been escalated to the VM networks team and agreed to be enduring, VM won't even admit that it is over-utilisation.  Unless things change or the forum staff can shed light on an area problem, I think that unfortunately you'll have to sit it out and hope that when lockdown ends it does resolve   

Sorry that's not very helpful, but that's how it looks to me.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
57 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss & Latency issues

Hi Andruser,

Thanks again for checking over it, much appreciated. I really hope its a case of over-utilisation however, I'm still not happy about paying for a service which doesn't work as expected.

I'd still like a response from the Forum Staff to check things over from there end as well.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.33K
  • 736
  • 1.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
54 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss & Latency issues

They will get round to your post, but due to work volumes at the moment it could well be the end of the week before you get a response.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks