Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
528 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Packet Loss and lag

Hi,

I seem to be struggling with packet loss and lag although when i run tests it says everything is fine! I have done the speed tests and also the coverage test throughout the house and its great in every room so how am i getting packet loss warnings and games lagging out? Sometimes even streaming on the TV is impossible with buffering ect.....!!!!

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.54K
  • 111
  • 187
Forum Team
Forum Team
473 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

Thanks for your post on our Community Forum Sco77ish88, and welcome back!

 

Sorry to see that you've been having issues with packet loss on your broadband services.

 

Would it be possible to set up a Broadband Quality Monitor via this link - BQM

 

This will allow us to see the extend of the packet loss and any other lagging that the services is experiencing

 

Thank you

 

David_Bn 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
468 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

Ive had a look through it and i am not sure if i know how to set it up 🤔

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.54K
  • 111
  • 187
Forum Team
Forum Team
454 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

Good Afternoon Sco77ish88

 

Have you been able to set this up?

 

If you require assistance, they too have a forum that may provide you with the required support - https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/bqm.html

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
418 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

Thank you, i have now figured it out and signed up..... what do i do now? I have created a monitor.....

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 153
  • 2
  • 11
Dialled in
405 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Packet Loss and lag

Once the monitor has been running for a few hours, share a link to the image here.

Andy

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
399 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

Perfect, can i use my xbox ip on a monitor? Sorry for all the questions.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 153
  • 2
  • 11
Dialled in
396 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

The IP should be the public IP address of your Virgin Media hub.

You should be able to find this here:

https://whatismyipaddress.com/

Andy

Highlighted
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
283 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Packet Loss and lag

SmartSelect_20200321-203109_Chrome.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
280 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss and lag

SmartSelect_20200321-203136_Chrome.jpg

SmartSelect_20200321-202910_Chrome.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply