Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
475 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Hi,

I'll Keep this brief.

Over the past month or so i've started to have serious packet loss on all outbound traffic from my network. I've confirmed by pinging my router (My own at 192.168.1.1) and the Virgin media router in modem mode (192.168.100.1) that my internal wired network is fine, and it's not an issue with the game server further down the line (as I get packet loss when hitting the nearest virgin node (nrth-core-2a-xe-011-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.104.142.105]) or 8.8.8.8 meaning it's either that node or my connection out from my router to that node.

It appears to be intermitten, but mainly during peak hours so I'd presume it's overloading at the node. It's very frustrating as packet loss can reach upwards of 10-20% over a 1000 ping cycle during the worst parts which can even affect browing to pages let alone attempting to game.

I understand the network is likely under a lot of load lately with the world situation, I just want confirmation that this issue is out of my hands and some timescale of when it can be fixed.

Below is the Router status information and a think broadband link

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/9a8b18085db397dd4274458efea1da1f48...

Status

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
227000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32600000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

Downstream

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1227000000-0.538256 qam12
2219000000-1.738256 qam11
3235000000-0.240256 qam13
4243000000-0.240256 qam14
5251000000040256 qam15
62590000000.238256 qam16
72670000001.240256 qam17
82750000001.240256 qam18
9283000000140256 qam19
102910000001.238256 qam20
112990000001.238256 qam21
123070000000.738256 qam22
133150000001.240256 qam23
14323000000138256 qam24
154110000001.238256 qam25
164190000001.238256 qam26
174270000001.240256 qam27
184350000001.240256 qam28
194430000000.738256 qam29
204510000000.738256 qam30
21459000000138256 qam31
22467000000140256 qam32
234750000001.440256 qam33
24483000000138256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6315965629
2Locked38.92891311103
3Locked40.3249573992
4Locked40.3195783369
5Locked40.3162422979
6Locked38.6183842816
7Locked40.3132722042
8Locked40.399401783
9Locked40.389691547
10Locked38.969401509
11Locked38.957631275
12Locked38.664451596
13Locked40.958171396
14Locked38.949081335
15Locked38.941071414
16Locked38.937901231
17Locked40.936301460
18Locked40.334431498
19Locked38.932241289
20Locked38.931551113
21Locked38.929401131
22Locked40.32794858
23Locked40.92933931
24Locked38.627641043

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
474 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Additional status info:

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000005.1512064 qam3
2258000005.1512032 qam4
3462000005.025512064 qam1
4394000004.975512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Configuration

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID8852
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID8851
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Network Log

Time Priority Description

24/07/2020 11:29:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/07/2020 10:04:58ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 22:41:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 21:54:21noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 21:48:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 21:47:13criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 21:47:13criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 18:36:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 18:19:58ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 17:54:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 16:46:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 16:43:9criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:34:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:34:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:32:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:30:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:29:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:28:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:28:48criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 15:28:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
438 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Adding a packet loss example after 24 hours, as you can see i'm having intermittent packet loss of 10-20% for periods of up to an hour, this is unusable.

Annotation 2020-07-24 220455.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
390 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Bumping this for someone at virgin to have a look at, I had another hour/hour half of 20% packet loss.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.73K
  • 205
  • 273
Forum Team
Forum Team
351 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Sorry to hear that you're having issues with your connection Stormgale.

 

I have been able to find your account and can see that an engineer appointment has been made for you to resolve this issue. The engineer should be able to get this connection issue resolved.

 

Regards

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
337 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Sadly the engineer (who was lovely, has not been able to resolve the issue, we replaced my isolator and cabling just to be safe, but as i've talked about above it's my connection to the nearest hub. As you ca nsee below we had a period of downtime (the tick red bar) and the connection has had massive packet loss ever since (The thin line is me attemtping a restart to help)

image.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
306 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

04-08.png

 

03-08.png

 

Today and yesterday Monitors. The thick red line is the engineer visiting but as you can see it's even longer now. IT's hard to get anything that needs responsiveness (like Work remote desktop or gaming) done

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.57K
  • 215
  • 416
Forum Team
Forum Team
257 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Hi there @Stormgale

 

Welcome to our Community and thank you for your posts - I am sorry to understand that you've been having some issues with packet loss and your connection. I can only apologise that you're still having issues since the technician visit. 

 

I have located your account to run though some diagnostics with you. I can see that the hub has not been rebooted since the tech visit; have you still had the issues since Tuesday? 

 

Currently we have no known area issues for your particular problem; the signal levels are within the parameters we would expect to see for your package but there are some errors showing. I'd like to see if they go after a reboot so I can then run through some more checks. 

 

This may need raising to our Networks team so I'd like to pass them the updated checks if possible - let me know when you have rebooted and we can check again for you. 

 

Cheers

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
253 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Hi Katie,

 

I did actually reboot it about an hour after the tech left (You can look at the graph in the post above yours, the bottom one of the two) the thick red bar (100% loss cause the router is off) is when they came and replaced the cable between the router and the wall mount, and the smaller red line to the right around 6pm was me rebooting.

Here's the live graph showing we had a big 2 hour block of heavy packet loss yday (08/09)If the graph has moved on since then then I've added a screenshot below

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1edb22aa6c07b79599365768b32b6550d4...
 

I just did a reboot but I sincirely doubt it's the hub, when I have heavy packet loss I can ping it just fine. I know the home hub 3 can only handle so much, so one of the first things I did was swap it ot modem mode and let dedicated hardware handle routing.

These problems are intermittent but i've only experienced them significantly during peak hours (you ca nsee that in all the graphs) and when they rise they tend to be persistent for around an hour or two. Downstream/upstream are fine, it's just anything latency dependant (remote working in the afternoon or gaming) that becomes very difficult.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
252 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss - CO4 Postcode

Image for aboveimage.png

0 Kudos
Reply