Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Not getting speed in sons bedrooms

My two sons are complaining that the speed they're getting in their bedrooms is too slow. They each have a powerline adaptor. When they connect computer direct into router their download speed is amazing. How can we solve this? We have highest broadband speed available 350mbps.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speed in sons bedrooms

Hi, have you downloaded the Virgin Media connect app? This app helps identify WiFi dead spots , gives tips and tricks of how to improve WiFi coverage, and you are able to order WiFi boosters through the app also. I hope this helps. Thanks, Marty

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

@janiceotterson4 wrote:

My two sons are complaining that the speed they're getting in their bedrooms is too slow. They each have a powerline adaptor. When they connect computer direct into router their download speed is amazing. How can we solve this? We have highest broadband speed available 350mbps.

What is the make and model of the powerline adapters? Not many adapters will give the full 350Mbs that you can get direct from the hub.  Most advertise unrealistic theoretical speeds that are not achievable in the real world.  The speeds are also limited by the wiring in your house and plugging the adapters into an extension rather than straight into the wall will slow them down.

Just checking, are they connected to the adapters via Ethernet?  Ethernet will always get the best speed.

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP