Menu
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
693 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

MTU affecting my server

Hi there, currently my son is running a dedicated server on a dedicated machine of his related to a game called DayZ, now problem is he runs mods on these servers which opens features and benefits to his players, now he has to query his mods between the server machine and the steam query meaning the launcher can detect what mods are using on the server, problem is MTU size is set to 1500 max and he needs it higher as each of his mods query at 48 bytes ish, anything 28 mods or above, it stops his server from querying meaning can he get a higher MTU then 1500 through virgin if requested?

0 Kudos
Reply
apcyberax
  • 33.5K
  • 1.88K
  • 5.96K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
683 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

MTU wont be the problem here. the amount of data and the MTU size isn't related
0 Kudos
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
669 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

So you're saying the game devs are wrong, there correct, 1 mod uses around 40byte then including steam query, so you are wrong because surprisingly I work as a IT Account Manager and as pre sales including network solutions, every packet larger then 1470 bytes is being "blocked", more then -28 mods and you are above the byte limit, You need about 40 byte per mod + general steam protocol overhead. So how is that not going to affect how many mods can be queried to the server, its dependant on the MTU size not been high enough.
0 Kudos
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
666 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

Simply a higher MTU size of 1500 would fix this issue
0 Kudos
Reply
apcyberax
  • 33.5K
  • 1.88K
  • 5.96K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
664 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

I'm a 3rd level system engineer. so I'm a little higher than an IT account manger 🙂
0 Kudos
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
663 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

But what is funny, you just refused and said MTU size would not affect how many mods is queried to my server. Simply lower the MTU and less mods will be queried simply as its put.
0 Kudos
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
661 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

Alone 29 mods uses 1200 MTU, like you would know. Add the general steam protocol overhead and boom your over the limit for MTU
0 Kudos
Reply
apcyberax
  • 33.5K
  • 1.88K
  • 5.96K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
660 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

MTU is a frame size at the data layer. It only effects how many large the packets are not chane the amount of data (mods) transferred. it will just change the number of packets needed to do the same job
0 Kudos
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
660 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

Then also alone the steam query protocol uses 1400 MTU size easily, so you're saying its now not a MTU size issue? Can you now refuse that it is a MTU size issue?
0 Kudos
Reply
Tracey19672002
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
658 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: MTU affecting my server

So if you think its not that reason, go ahead now and tell me what the issue is? Id like to hear
0 Kudos
Reply