Menu
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
952 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Latency / ping spikes

Have had virgin for a number of years. 
in the last 9 months it has become horrendous on some days and especially during the peak times. 

Speed is consistent however my ping is all over the place making gaming near impossible. I even stumped up another £200 for a netgear router as I thought this might be the root cause however it is the connection from virgin media. 

The hub is in modem mode, when I access it, it won’t populate network status ever and every time I call through to virgin it tells me to reset the hub and then cuts me off. 

Tired of throwing £100 a month down the drain for the only real reason I have virgin. The broadband speed and previously the consistency which is a past memory. 

the devices that are affected are wired to the router PS4 and PC. Wireless is massively affected however I don’t game on my phone or tablets really and I can switch to 4G if it plays up. 

what do I do now? The hardware is old (like 4-5 years) and my TiVo boxes are also showing age. Needing to be rebooted every couple days just to even turn on !! 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
angelastinson
  • 58
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
928 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

I've been having the exact same problems ever since the 1st lockdown. Its probably due to everyone working from home and gaming as people cant go out. Make an account on thinkbroadband.com and set up a ping graft it's very easy to do and see what the results say in correlation to peak times and your ping. Then go to share and share the graft after 24 hours. But I assume it's the same as my issue where its just being overused in your area at certain times so itll spike. Hope this helps you in any way 

0 Kudos
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
883 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

Please see below graph

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/8ae9dae6dd49110eca4f48c414916331d77b1649

 

No-one at home, nothing except computer and Tivo boxes on. Delightful ping spikes in random hours.

Can Virgin get this addressed asap  ??? Now with another lockdown how am I supposed to ever work from home with these obvious issues. 

0 Kudos
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
879 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

All the info from the modem

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12270000004.138256 qam12
21390000005.138256 qam1
31470000003.437256 qam2
41550000004.938256 qam3
51630000004.938256 qam4
61710000004.938256 qam5
71790000004.938256 qam6
81870000004.938256 qam7
91950000004.838256 qam8
102030000004.538256 qam9
112110000004.338256 qam10
12219000000438256 qam11
13235000000438256 qam13
142430000003.938256 qam14
15251000000438256 qam15
162590000003.938256 qam16
17267000000438256 qam17
182750000003.938256 qam18
192830000003.740256 qam19
202910000003.938256 qam20
21299000000438256 qam21
22307000000440256 qam22
23315000000438256 qam23
243230000004.138256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9100
2Locked38.620
3Locked37.6910
4Locked38.620
5Locked38.6100
6Locked38.680
7Locked38.990
8Locked38.6190
9Locked38.9100
10Locked38.9100
11Locked38.9120
12Locked38.9100
13Locked38.9100
14Locked38.9100
15Locked38.9100
16Locked38.9100
17Locked38.680
18Locked38.9100
19Locked40.3130
20Locked38.9160
21Locked38.6130
22Locked40.380
23Locked38.9130
24Locked38.9140

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940009546.8512064 qam4
24620004345.3512064 qam3
35370006845.3512064 qam2
46030002645.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
227000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400095
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

04/01/2021 22:01:8noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/01/2021 08:34:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2021 15:19:45noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/2021 06:16:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2020 14:23:12noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-
0 Kudos
Reply
jem101
  • 2.36K
  • 277
  • 1.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
873 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

There’s nothing at all wrong with the stats as posted, the BQM graph looks like a case of congestion or over utilisation on the local segment. Nothing whatsoever you can do about it and even a VM engineer visit probably wouldn’t be able to make more than a few minor adjustments. The only thing would be for VM to upgrade the local capacity - and don’t hold your breath waiting for that!

0 Kudos
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
827 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

Thanks Jem

Another day of no one using it and it has only gotten worse. 

And no feedback from anyone relating to Virgin media for 3 days now.

Must be working from home on the same or worse connections. 

James_adc_0-1609877078246.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
720 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

@Anyone from Virgin.

There has been some improvement in the last 24 hours. 

I received a text regarding some works on Friday. Has this rectified the utilization issue in the area ?

 

James_adc_0-1610289820860.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
632 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

Well spoke too soon

Absolutely diabolical. 

No response from anyone from VM on this forum either ? This is now the recommended way to communicate and it seems being ignorant is best. 

James_adc_4-1610550683502.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
James_adc
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
556 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

All, To update on the delightful Virgin media experience.

Called them Wednesday as after another awesome day of connectivity (see below graph). I decided to leave Virgin media and actually tell them this. 

After 40 mins of waiting on hold, get through a lovely women (with Scottish accent) who is sad to hear my plight of connectivity and says lets investigate. 

I end up with her colleague in India who tells me basically he cannot see any problems and my speeds are fine. Wasn't interested in the whole latency issue or viewing the info provided here. 

Engineer visit next Wednesday (to tell me its a utilisation issue) which is not recognised by VM in the contract.

Back to disconnections and done. (Remember to cancel direct debit after this month so we don't rip you off and make you wait 45 days for your money to be returned). 

Then 3 missed calls later, I get a decent guy who is calling me to reconsider based on price? ?? ? ? Guess they don't pass the info on about issues that haven't been resolved internally. 

Nearly 15 years as a loyal customer as Virgin and now moving to another ISP. 

It is epitomized here as well. Not a single response from any of the VM Team and until I rang you hadn't even dealt with my complaint that was 8 days old. 

You have some decent people VM, stop over selling your services and causing issues for 1000's of people. Its not reasonable. 

James_adc_0-1610718431994.png

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
chatmandu
  • 35
  • 1
  • 7
On our wavelength
552 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency / ping spikes

Is it possible to break a contract based upon latency? I think I'd like to leave VM. 

0 Kudos
Reply