Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
604 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Latency issues

Hi,

I am having issues with latency but I am unable to get Virgin support to help as they just keep saying restart your hub.

Latency to google by doing a continuous ping comes back with a max of 350ms but spikes between that at 40 ms, It's making gaming very laggy. How can I get this actually looked into?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13.59K
  • 551
  • 1.27K
Alessandro Volta
566 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

Try gaming in modem mode.

---------------------------------------------------------------
BQM, Test for outgoing ports and L2TP VPN test
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
559 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

Hi,

As you can see via BQM link below the latency is high and constantly spiking.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/cf8ef1407450ce93fd912539fcfd2f70cb946d74

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 153
  • 2
  • 11
Dialled in
549 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

Is this a recent issue? If so, check your Network Logs on the Hub to see if there has been a software update around the time you saw the issue appearing.

Andy

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
497 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

Hi, 

Im guessing as I had to reset my box a few times it lost the logs to say whether or not there was an upgrade. I did put the device into modem mode which helped, pinging google now spikes to 60ms but sits around which is 10-15ms. Unfortunately the latency issue is back but not sure if this is to due to an outage within Virgin as my download is 50Mb when it should be 100Mb and latency to anything is extremely high?

Thanks 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
442 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

Hi,

The connection is still showing as high latency with loss, I have put it into modem mode and it is still not helping. As you can see from the below I am still getting high latency and there are even request time outs happening.

Even when running the service status on virgin websites it just comes back with technical error. What the best way to get someone out to test the actual cable?

64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=27.836 ms

64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=54.826 ms

64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=5 ttl=55 time=105.874 ms

64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=6 ttl=55 time=349.315 ms

64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=7 ttl=55 time=71.236 ms

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.95K
  • 564
  • 1.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
425 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. If using screenshots be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.  If you copy and paste the log then the forum will automatically censor this sensitive information. Also note that images will take time to appear on the forum due to a combination of awaiting moderator approval and buggy code.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (will take a few days) and run checks on your line.

Also worth setting up a BQM to measure and show latency:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
414 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

Here we go, 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

141100000016.937256 qam29
21870000001537256 qam7
319500000014.637256 qam8
420300000014.837256 qam9
521100000014.537256 qam10
621900000014.637256 qam11
722700000014.637256 qam12
823500000014.137256 qam13
924300000014.537256 qam

14

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1602999983.4512064 qam1
2393999763.25512064 qam4
3461999373.3512064 qam3
4536999613.35512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

26/03/2020 18:58:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:31:34Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:31:34criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:29:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:29:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:27:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:27:58criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:02:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 15:02:17criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 14:56:38Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 14:56:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 14:56:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 14:56:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 14:56:32criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/03/2020 14:56:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/03/2020 05:48:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2020 14:42:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2020 14:22:34Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2020 14:22:29criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2020 14:22:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/bd86e2add7b7d9d6f10d90397716bd3d4bb4c62d

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.95K
  • 564
  • 1.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
411 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Latency issues

The downstream power levels are too high, the recommended range is between -6 and +10 and all of yours are well above +10.  This will probably need a technician visit to get the power levels corrected.

You can try calling VM to book a visit or wait here for one of the forum team to pick this up.  Right now both options have a fairly long wait time as VM resources are stretched for obvious reasons, but in my experience waiting for a response here is usually the best option.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
406 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency issues

cheers for the help Scott, They must be super stretched at the moment so will wait for a response on the thread.