Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
692 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Latency Spikes constantly

Hi,

 

As others have described I am finding myself getting latency spikes when playing games.

 

This is obviously an issue and I can't seem to find a fix.

 

I am connecting to my home network via WiFi, unable to connect an ethernet cable at this time.

Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

I initially thought this was an issue with the network card I had bought, however I have tried WiFi range extenders and find the same issue happening.

I've tried multiple restarts, resetting network settings, but unable to stop these lag spikes happening. It's really annoying especially since I'm a new customer. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
691 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

Also, the latency only goes up a bit, but causes a huge stutter in games.
All games.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.39K
  • 378
  • 927
Problem sorter
628 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

The figures you're showing are pinging your own router, and look entirely consistent with a wifi connection.  There's nothing VM or any other ISP can do to change the way wifi works, so what you've posted is going to continue unless you connect over ethernet.  I'd also assert that a few local blips of an extra 10-40 ms won't be material within the inherent range of latencies on full round trip to a gaming server, and that itself will be as nothing compared to your 250ms+ reaction time.

That isn't to say that you don't have a latency problem, but it is to say that what you've posted doesn't show whether there is or not.

If you want to investigate a latency problem that is within VM's control, set up a Broadband Quality Monitor at Thinkbroadband.com, let it run for a few days, and post a complete 24 hour run here   This is what a decent connection looks like - when gaming you'd be additionally overlaying the variability of wifi, but that won't show in your BQM.

My Broadband Ping - VM number 2

As you can see, at peak times, peak latencies rise a bit, but nothing that's a real world problem for gaming.  Bear in mind that if you're connecting to far distant, or over-subscribed gaming servers, then the latency will be materially worse than your BQM which shows the ping between Thinkbroadband's server and your hub, but what happens elsewhere on the internet is not VM's responsibility.  Also, if you're running Twitch you deserve whatever you get do a check to see if stopping streaming has any impact - live streaming game video over a broadband and wifi connection is giving a much higher workload to equipment that's mostly cheap and cheerful, and may not play as nicely as you'd like.

Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
617 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

I'll run that test.

 

What I found was that when it spiked when pinging my own router is when it would jump up in games, and lag out the discord audio slightly. Usually a 1-2 second delay. So the timings if those small blips match up with the latency spikes. 

It's not only games, it's other applications too, but I'll run the checker and get back.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
559 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

Chart here

 There you go, that's what the last 24 hours have been. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.39K
  • 378
  • 927
Problem sorter
552 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

That isn't perfect, but equally we've all seen a lot, lot worse in this forum, and there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to game successfully on that connection.  There's some peak loading in the morning (probably as people wake up and turn on every connected gadget they've got), and there's an unusual very early evening spike, but nothing major between 6pm and half ten.

There's no dropped packets, the average latency of your cable connection is within a range that looks to be 18-23ms, and most of the yellow fringing is inherent with the Hub 3 and DOCSIS technology. The peak time increase in latency is very modest, so I can't see VM wanting to investigate or spend money on this.

Unless there's other symptoms (slow speed via ethernet devices, or out of kilter SNR or power levels, or high error rates) then I think this will be regarded as an acceptable connection quality, and any spiking you're seeing in games is most likely either the upstream routing (mostly beyond VM's control) or down to the cable connection conspiring with the inherent faults of wifi (which is why ethernet is preferred for gaming).

Sorry if that's not the answer you want, but I can't see anything VM are likely to address based on the BQM, unless there's already a planned area upgrade that might fix the (implied) very modest congestion.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
486 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

Damn that sucks. Thanks anyway. Maybe look for another ISP after this one then. Had no idea Virgin were like this.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.39K
  • 378
  • 927
Problem sorter
480 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

Well, before committing to leave, you might want to post your hub's Upstream, Downstream and Logs tabs here, so that people can have a look for anything that might be resolvable - costs nothing!  Although VM won't care about gaming latency, they do want to keep the network within normal operating parameters, and it possible something's marginally adrift and worsens the peak time performance.

Also, log into the hub and see what the error performance is like.  If there's more than a handful of post-RS errors then there's something wrong, or if there's many thousands of pre-RS errors.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
450 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

How do I do that?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
444 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Latency Spikes constantly

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1178750000340256 qam6
21387500003.540256 qam1
31467500003.540256 qam2
4154750000340256 qam3
51627500002.940256 qam4
6170750000340256 qam5
71867500002.940256 qam7
81947500002.540256 qam8
92027500002.240256 qam9
10210750000240256 qam10
112187500001.740256 qam11
122267500001.540256 qam12
132347500001.240256 qam13
142427500001.240256 qam14
152507500001.440256 qam15
162587500001.240256 qam16
17266750000140256 qam17
18274750000140256 qam18
192827500001.540256 qam19
202907500001.440256 qam20
212987500001.540256 qam21
223067500001.440256 qam22
233147500001.540256 qam23
243227500001.540256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3430
2Locked40.9140
3Locked40.3380
4Locked40.9300
5Locked40.9410
6Locked40.3350
7Locked40.31110
8Locked40.3350
9Locked40.3440
10Locked40.3380
11Locked40.3390
12Locked40.9750
13Locked40.9640
14Locked40.3710
15Locked40.3660
16Locked40.3840
17Locked40.91140
18Locked40.31020
19Locked40.9870
20Locked40.3710
21Locked40.3860
22Locked40.9650
23Locked40.3550
24Locked40.3440

 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1462002754.55512064 qam1
2326001694.45512064 qam3
3394001194.5512064 qam2
4537002434.65512064 qam4


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
I've no idea what any of this means. But help is appreciated.
0 Kudos
Reply