Menu
Reply
  • 416
  • 19
  • 85
tonycv51
Fibre optic
965 Views
Message 11 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

Are your upstream levels still as high, if so they will still be impacting your connection and you'd benefit from that being fixed even if your connection had settled down.

Also might be worth setting up a BQM if you haven't already so that you can check latency / line quality over a period of time

  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
vikei48
On our wavelength
931 Views
Message 12 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

I will post the current upstream/downstream data and include BQM graphs from the last three days as well.

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12990000003.738256 qam21
23230000003.740256 qam24
33150000003.440256 qam23
43070000003.540256 qam22
52910000003.238256 qam20
62830000002.738256 qam19
72750000002.940256 qam18
82670000002.740256 qam17
92590000002.540256 qam16
102510000002.740256 qam15
112430000002.540256 qam14
122350000002.240256 qam13
132270000002.540256 qam12
142190000002.440256 qam11
152110000002.438256 qam10
162030000002.540256 qam9
171950000002.240256 qam8
18187000000238256 qam7
19179000000240256 qam6
20171000000240256 qam5
21163000000240256 qam4
221550000002.240256 qam3
231470000002.240256 qam2
24139000000138256 qam1


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.92673869390
2Locked40.32219252918
3Locked40.32529267887
4Locked40.92456243851
5Locked38.92853561151
6Locked38.93602969250
7Locked40.94650758521
8Locked40.35850081861
9Locked40.33886371860
10Locked40.33853274830
11Locked40.34304775505
12Locked40.35740686063
13Locked40.35835480859
14Locked40.35766884334
15Locked38.96184785005
16Locked40.38833098008
17Locked40.311060092621
18Locked38.910775099392
19Locked40.39344892176
20Locked40.3145138106421
21Locked40.3296363465326139
22Locked40.312864144659731
23Locked40.3234304152673
24Locked38.6391153400236

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13260000043.5512064 qam15
22580000043.8512064 qam16
35370000044.3512064 qam17
43940000044512064 qam14



Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA00220
2ATDMA00200
3ATDMA00170
4ATDMA00140

 

5b7be7363e72f8a84b150e4e7c48667f83d60d45-28-11-2018.pngb7ef56edcd2cdd52e99d1d0348527f0036a819ad-29-11-2018.png36f28c51dd0596654ef9346d2e45e2b427d5d798-27-11-2018.png

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17.04K
  • 933
  • 6.81K
Superuser
Superuser
925 Views
Message 13 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

The upstream's looking nice but the downstream is not good.

While the power levels appear fine.  The post RS count does not appear nice at all.

Can you try the following.

1. Record the post RS levels now.
2. Record the post RS levels in about 30 minutes

Then post them both on here so we can compare them.

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
vikei48
On our wavelength
920 Views
Message 14 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

The first recording:

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9  26739  69390
2 Locked 40.3  22192  52918
3 Locked 40.3  25292  67887
4 Locked 40.3  24562  43851
5 Locked 38.9  28535  61151
6 Locked 38.9  36030  69250
7 Locked 40.3  46507  58521
8 Locked 40.3  58500  81861
9 Locked 40.3  38863  71860
10 Locked 40.3  38532  74830
11 Locked 40.3  43047  75505
12 Locked 40.3  57407  86063
13 Locked 40.9  58354  80859
14 Locked 40.3  57668  84334
15 Locked 38.9  61847  85005
16 Locked 40.3  88330  98008
17 Locked 40.3  110600  92621
18 Locked 38.6  107750  99392
19 Locked 40.3  93448  92176
20 Locked 40.3  145151  106421
21 Locked 40.3  30588266  5341830
22 Locked 40.3  13052092  659731
23 Locked 40.3  235429  152777
24 Locked 38.6  392501  403124

Next recording:

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.92674069390
2Locked40.32219252918
3Locked40.32529267887
4Locked40.32456243851
5Locked38.92853561151
6Locked38.93603069250
7Locked40.34650758521
8Locked40.35850081861
9Locked40.33886371860
10Locked40.33853274830
11Locked40.34304775505
12Locked40.35740986063
13Locked40.35835480859
14Locked40.35766884334
15Locked38.96184785005
16Locked40.38833098008
17Locked40.311060092621
18Locked38.910775099392
19Locked40.39344892176
20Locked40.3145157106421
21Locked40.3307345795355539
22Locked40.313095295659731
23Locked40.3236896153041
24Locked38.9394601406402
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17.04K
  • 933
  • 6.81K
Superuser
Superuser
918 Views
Message 15 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

Although the post RS's look high - most of them appear static EXCEPT for the following channels

21
23
24

All of which show an increase between the two recordings.

@Ben_N can you take a look?

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 416
  • 19
  • 85
tonycv51
Fibre optic
904 Views
Message 16 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

What hub do you have - if Hub 3 what firmware ?

Your BQM is pretty bad tbh - if you're on the old firmware on the hub3 then that will explain some of the yellow but not all of it 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
vikei48
On our wavelength
902 Views
Message 17 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

I am not home to double check, but I remember it was 9.1.116.608 last time I had a look. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17.04K
  • 933
  • 6.81K
Superuser
Superuser
894 Views
Message 18 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

That's the latest version.

Mines much better than yours.

 

My Broadband Ping - Raven IPv4

Although it's by no means perfect.  The SH2ac was so much better in this regard Smiley Sad

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
vikei48
On our wavelength
886 Views
Message 19 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

Yeah, I keep reading about how Hub 2 was better. Was there supposed to be another firmware update around this time? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 17.04K
  • 933
  • 6.81K
Superuser
Superuser
883 Views
Message 20 of 53
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just switched to Virgin - High ping

Virgin Media haven't mentioned one. (with the exception of 1st line support who - IMHO are unlikely to be told and will say anything that they think a user wants to hear.

Tim

Your BQM and your post RS errors are not good.  Someone needs to escalate this.

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos
Reply