Menu
Sachmet99
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

I want to change my IP

So my problem is, that I have a contract with Virgin Media and I wanted to change my IP, I think I have been under DDOS attacks from the last week, I'm a professional streamer and my way of earning is to stream games, but due to the sudden disconnection I'm not able to do. Can someone from Virgin Media does it for me? I am stuck actually because still someone has my IP and I can't stream games. Is that true that IP changes automatically every 2 weeks? Please someone help me 

0 Kudos
Bradlewis
On our wavelength
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: I want to change my IP

If its that serious (ie, you earn a living streaming with no other source of income) 

You need to call up and speak to them over the phone. I *think* you need a new hub from virgin to get a new IP. 

The forum team can take quite a few days to respond but you also need to make sure that is the issue and nothing else. 

0 Kudos
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

ip might change after a few months - it might not - they will not change it for you thats not something they do

you can change it yourself by putting the hub into modem mode and adding your own router

other than that you are stuck

Tony
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

calling up and asking for a different IP address will not work, to avoid further issues could use a VPN for streaming..

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
legacy1
Alessandro Volta
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

You might not be under DDOS attacks but if the upstream bandwidth is under heavy load in your area you can buffer in the hub.

You can setup a BQM and when you have nothing downloading or uploading see if it spikes.