Menu
Reply
rf96
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
749 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

I would like for someone to be able to offer some insight - I dont know a huge amount about this.

I have issues when playing Warzone and it is seemingly only when playing Warzone... FIFA is okay, Cold War is okay, even Modern Warfare multiplayer seems o be okay. 

I have gotten back into Warzone after stopping play due to bad latency. I had one good week and now I am back to experiencing a constant 100-400ms in game. No one else that I know or play with has this issue, they will max out at around 50ms. 

People have speculated at a potential shadow ban but after setting up my BQM this morning I can fairly confidently say that it is my broadband...

Here is a link to my BQM: 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/cdf5328ffe8e80752b29253d0b9782cf1a... 

I have made my laptop a wired connection straight from my router since 18:30.

The only thing that I can even nearly link to the huge spike is the purchase of a netgear wifi extender although even when i stop the power to the extender, I am getting the same latency issues. 

I have 8 devices connected to the internet, 2 of which are Amazon Echo Dots, 2 phones, 2 ipads, my laptop and My PS5(WIRED).

If anyone could help out at all I would really appreciate it or if anyone has any tips, I would really appreciate that too.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
724 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

Leave the BQM running.  If it becomes "clean and tidy" between half midnight and 8:00am, then you're suffering the effects of over-utilisation, and if you search my previous posts you'll find description, explanation and outlook.  .  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
rf96
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
648 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

Sorry... but i cant seem to find anything in past posts.. I'm a bit useless. put simply, should i stick with Virgin if the issue is only latency? I have read they're a bit notorious for latency?

Or is there just a different router that you might recommend that will work with virgin cable?
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
645 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

Nope, there's no router in the universe that will sort out the latency problem.  The BQM now reveals that your local network is subject to over utilisation.  I'll paste in my boiler plate response on that matter below:

The BQM shows a typical over-utilisation pattern - you see how it's very poor during normal waking hours, and then peachy from about half past midnight to 9 am? Shows that the network and your hub are working perfectly when there isn't too much traffic. You can choose to believe whether this is Covid related, or whether VM simply sell contracts until (and indeed after) the local network is at capacity, but the outcome is the same for now.

Nothing you can do to improve matters. In some areas VM do indeed undertake work to rejig the local networks to balance loads and eliminate over-utilisation. But sometimes that's either not possible, or judged uneconomic if there's a need to spend money on more equipment. And sadly VM won't ever admit the truth, so there will be a fault reference and a "fix date", but there's no way of knowing if that fix date is actually backed by an actual plan of action and programme of works. Quite often it seems not, and as the fix date approaches it is simply moved a month or two ahead.

There is a little glimmer of hope, that as and when your area is upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1, and sufficient customers are using the Hub 4, then that ought to improve matters, but this could be many months, even a year or two hence. Simply you having a Hub 4 on its own won't improve matters, and although VM aren't saying so, I suspect that even after D3.1 is active, a significant proportion of customers on an over-utilised segment would have to be using the Hub 4 before the benefits start to appear.

Your options:

1) Sit it out, and hope that either VM do carry out improvement works, or that they get D3.1 live and that tactic actually does (eventually) work. Sometimes it will, sometimes it won't because it depends on what exactly is the "pinch point" of local network capacity.

2) Get yourself a new ISP. If you're in a fixed term contract you'll probably have to use the VM complaints process (and arbitration at CISAS if need be) to try and be released from contract without penalty.

Of late we've had a further lockdown, and the start of the 2020 game and console release cycle, both of which have driven traffic up hugely.  If the over-utilisation started suddenly in the past week or two, there's a hope that it will fade away when those influences decline, and my advice is to wait and see for a month or two, even if that's really inconvenient.  If the problem's longer standing then the earlier comments about expecting a resolution to take a lot longer probably apply, along with the potential remedy being to get a new ISP.  But if you go down new ISP route, check if you're liable for any VM early termination fees because you're in a fixed term contract, and make sure you speak to a competent ISP (AAISP, uno, Aquiss, IDNet, CIX, Zen Internet) to establish your expected speed and whether there's any existing contention (over-utilisation) issues on the Openreach network around you.  Failure to do the first could land you with a big bill, failure to do the second could mean you jump ship and find the situation is no better, but your broadband is slower.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

rf96
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
626 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

Thank you very much for your help! I have been attempting to raise this issue with VM for nearly 2 months and the best I've got is "There are engineers working on this now".

I came to a similar conclusion based on the BQM showing the huge issues through the day and no issue through the night. I have been looking into a new provider but I changed to VM only a matter of months ago because I was having some serious issues with my previous provider. I was losing connection completely a minimum of 3 times a day.

I can't really see there being any progress made -
I assumed that living where i do, just outside of croydon, would have been up there on their list of places to fix being so populated.

Sorry for asking so many questions but you are giving the answers I've wanted for months! Is there a reliable way to check for over-utilisation with different providers other than calling and asking? Any kind of comparison website you may know of?

Once again, thank you very much, you've been very helpful.
0 Kudos
Reply
rf96
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
547 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

I appreciate I may be wasting my time with all of this but just out of pure curiosity i wanted to share the Router Status to see if anything at all can be taken from it...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11630000005.440256 qam4
21390000006.540256 qam1
31470000005.540256 qam2
4155000000540256 qam3
51710000005.840256 qam5
61790000004.640256 qam6
71870000005.440256 qam7
81950000005.840256 qam8
92030000005.540256 qam9
102110000005.340256 qam10
112190000006.140256 qam11
122270000005.940256 qam12
132350000005.540256 qam13
142430000005.340256 qam14
152510000005.540256 qam15
162590000005.540256 qam16
172670000005.640256 qam17
182750000005.440256 qam18
192830000005.840256 qam19
20291000000640256 qam20
21299000000640256 qam21
22307000000640256 qam22
23315000000640256 qam23
243230000005.940256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3140
2Locked40.300
3Locked40.3150
4Locked40.9130
5Locked40.3120
6Locked40.3150
7Locked40.3180
8Locked40.9200
9Locked40.3130
10Locked40.3200
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.3140
13Locked40.380
14Locked40.3160
15Locked40.3140
16Locked40.3140
17Locked40.3120
18Locked40.3130
19Locked40.3120
20Locked40.9130
21Locked40.9180
22Locked40.390
23Locked40.3140
24Locked40.3230

 

0 Kudos
Reply
rf96
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
546 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370001945.3512064 qam10
23940000043.8512064 qam12
34620002445.3512064 qam11
46030000745.3512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
rf96
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
543 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

Network Log

Time Priority Description

16/12/2020 09:32:9noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 09:32:9ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2020 18:12:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2020 12:53:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2020 12:53:9Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 09:05:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 08:58:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 08:58:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 08:58:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/12/2020 02:20:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 16:56:17noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 15:11:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 10:34:24noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 16:42:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 21:21:0noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 21:21:0ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 16:32:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2020 09:21:1noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2020 09:21:1ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/11/2020 17:17:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
SamStaples
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
494 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: I am getting what I think is a fairly constant and abnormally high latency. I have M100 package.

I live just outside of croydon and the latency issue I'm getting is honestly a joke.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/e449336cccbd78bb16547cb8bc77c8d58411aa47

 

There are clearly some very serious problems in the croydon area, with the problem only getting worse it seems. I used to be able to play games from 6pm onwards but now its unplayable until 12am. It's honestly a joke. 

 

0 Kudos
Reply