Menu
Reply
Bigbal
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
360 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

High ping , jitter

When i signed up to virgin media a few years ago i consistently had ping speed of 10ms with zero packet loss. I also experienced excellent wi fi coverage all around the house. For the last few months im now getting ping speeds of 25ms and 10ms jitter. I cant stream anything on HD in the up stairs bedroom either has to be SD and im getting regular disconnects on whilst playing on xbox live. Iv tried all the usual resets and and stuff but doesnt fix the issue. Can someone help please?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
357 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: High ping , jitter

Wifi coverage may be a separate issue to the latency issues.  Let's see how latency and packet loss are on your connection: Setup a BQM over at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality that'll show what's going on with your VM connection.  Post a LINK to a LIVE, SHARED graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can post the link immediately.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Bigbal
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
351 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
323 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

Exactly that.  Early hours yet, but initial view is a very poor broadband connection, which can usually be resolved when the probable cause has been identified.  Getting that fixed will sort out most poor connection reliability issues, won't make a difference to wireless reach in the property, but worry about that in a bit.

As a next step, can you connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  Or type that into a browser if the link into doesn't work.  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Bigbal
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
284 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

PasswordShow
 


 
Router status
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
11390000007.937256 qam1
21470000007.937256 qam2
3155000000837256 qam3
4163000000837256 qam4
5171000000837256 qam5
6179000000837256 qam6
71870000007.837256 qam7
81950000007.537256 qam8
92030000007.537256 qam9
102110000007.537256 qam10
112190000007.537256 qam11
122270000007.537256 qam12
132350000007.437256 qam13
14243000000737256 qam14
152510000007.337256 qam15
162590000007.437256 qam16
172670000007.537256 qam17
182750000008.638256 qam18
192830000009.538256 qam19
20291000000938256 qam20
212990000008.938256 qam21
223070000008.438256 qam22
233150000008.338256 qam23
243230000008.338256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked37.6110
2Locked37.6240
3Locked37.6140
4Locked37.6240
5Locked37.6270
6Locked37.6290
7Locked37.6270
8Locked37.6320
9Locked37.3120
10Locked37.3260
11Locked37.6180
12Locked37.3150
13Locked37.6260
14Locked37.6110
15Locked37.6220
16Locked37.680
17Locked37.320
18Locked38.6140
19Locked38.990
20Locked38.6140
21Locked38.6210
22Locked38.6220
23Locked38.6130
24Locked38.6210
0 Kudos
Reply
Bigbal
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
283 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

PasswordShow
 


 
Router status
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
15370000042512064 qam7
23939984942512064 qam9
34619983342512064 qam8
46029991241.8512064 qam6


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Bigbal
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
282 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

PasswordShow
 


 
Router status
Network LogTime Priority Description
26/06/2021 10:25:6noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/06/2021 10:13:48Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/06/2021 17:33:39noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/06/2021 17:33:22Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2021 03:35:32ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 11:33:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 05:05:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 04:08:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 03:44:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 03:44:46criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 02:09:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 02:09:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:06:54Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:02:21Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:02:10criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:02:10Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:02:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:02:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 01:01:58criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
275 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

Unfortunately I can't spot any obvious problems in that data.  There's some issues in the network log, but they don't appear to be persistent, and other than that power and noise levels seemed good when data was taken.  The BQM shows the connection is intermittently poor, all I can suggest is waiting for the forum staff to advise.  Possibly they'll be able to see things that I'm not seeing.  

If you get a response "all looks good from our side" but the problem continues then you may need to be very persistent.to get this fixed.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Bigbal
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
264 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

ok, so is it just a case of waiting for someone to get in touch?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
258 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping , jitter

Yep.  The forum is patrolled by VM staff, and they'll pick up your post and reply.  Sometimes quickly, sometimes takes a couple of days, as this isn't (from VM's side of the fence) first line support.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply