Menu
Reply
timothymorris
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
942 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

I have the M350 package (Hub 3.0), and I'm getting an awful ping 100+ when gaming (csgo). My computer is connected directly to the Hub 3.0 router. Analysis provided below.

Can you please advise how I can correct this issue?

Broadband Check.PNG

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
427000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

  Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1427000000-237256 qam37
2251000000-3.237256 qam15
3259000000-3.237256 qam16
4267000000-337256 qam17
5275000000-337256 qam18
6283000000-337256 qam19
7291000000-2.737256 qam20
8299000000-2.437256 qam21
9307000000-2.237256 qam22
10315000000-237256 qam23
11323000000-1.937256 qam24
12331000000-238256 qam25
13339000000-1.737256 qam26
14347000000-1.538256 qam27
15355000000-1.937256 qam28
16363000000-1.737256 qam29
17371000000-1.538256 qam30
18379000000-1.538256 qam31
19387000000-1.538256 qam32
20395000000-1.537256 qam33
21403000000-1.738256 qam34
22411000000-1.737256 qam35
23419000000-237256 qam36
24435000000-237256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.67876728
2Locked37.63945880
3Locked37.64395904
4Locked37.63916066
5Locked37.33626189
6Locked37.33326168
7Locked37.33286186
8Locked37.63016510
9Locked37.62536564
10Locked37.62076589
11Locked37.62276731
12Locked38.62977038
13Locked37.62406945
14Locked38.62197010
15Locked37.33207008
16Locked37.62496978
17Locked38.62026921
18Locked38.62446897
19Locked38.62867130
20Locked37.63227274
21Locked38.62577398
22Locked37.63187228
23Locked37.63257440
24Locked37.69506373

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.675512064 qam2
2394000004.675512064 qam4
3462000024.675512064 qam3
4603000004.825512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.55K
  • 972
  • 2.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
940 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

Nothing stands out in those figures, although the error count could indicate problems depending on when the hub was last rebooted.  how long has this been a problem?

Suggest you post the network log, and also visit Thinkbroadband.com and setup a Broadband Quality Monitor.  Let the BQM run for 24 hours and post a link to a shared snapshot chart here.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
timothymorris
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
927 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

Thanks for the response.

I forgot to edit out my IP, so the image didn't post correctly (thankfully). Ping check from today shown below, and previous days look very similar.

You mentioned rebooting the router, how often should the router be rebooted and how much difference would this make?

Broadband Check.PNG

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.55K
  • 972
  • 2.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
880 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

A DOCSIS hub is a software controlled device, and in my view regular reboots do the temperamental devices good. 

Unfortunately I don't think that is  going to help with your issues, because the BQM looks to my eye like conclusive evidence of over-utilisation in your area.  Basically, VM appear to have sold more contracts in the area than the equipment has the capacity to handle.  They're currently blaming Covid for many of these problems, and there's a bit of truth in that, but the widespread complaints about over utilisation were picking up before lockdown, so I think there's been a policy decision by the company last year to sell more even if that causes problems (not that I can prove that).  

VM rarely invest to fix over-utilisation.  Doing so is slow, complicated and expensive, and the financial returns are not there.  From their point of view better to stick their fingers in their ears to drown out the complaints, maybe issue a fault number that keeps getting shoved two months down the road every time it is due to be resolved, and hope that customers either grow accustomed to the shonky service, or leave in sufficient numbers to bring traffic back within capacity.

There's little you can do to change this.  VM's complaint process won't change company behaviour.  Appealing to CISAS won't help because they can't force VM to make investments.  And you can complain to Ofcom, but they are useless, a true chocolate teapot amongst regulators.

Your main options:

1) Put up with this hoping it gets better.  It may, it may not, and there will be no credible or useful guidance from VM on whether they really plan to invest to fix the fault.  Possibly after lockdown has fully gone then things will improve.

2) Investigate your options with other ISPs.  If this is the way you want to go, and you're in a fixed term contract, you'd need to hope that at the busiest times (as shown on your BQM) that you could run a series of speed tests until they drop below the minimum speed guarantee, and then invoke the speed guarantee policy to leave without paying early termination fees.

Sorry, not what you want the hear, nor what I'd like to advise, but that's how I think the land lies.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

timothymorris
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
869 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

I had a feeling this was the issue, thank you for your help and explanation.

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 8.19K
  • 446
  • 717
Forum Team
Forum Team
845 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

Hi timothymorris

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community. I am sorry to hear of the broadband issues, though checking the account there's no congestion issues. The hub has been up for 65 days without a reboot however. Please reboot and let us know if it fixes things,

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
Reply
timothymorris
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
781 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

Thanks for your response John.

I rebooted the router on Sunday, but it doesn't seem to have made too much of a difference to my latency (still very unreliable) - see pictures for Monday / Tuesday.

Would this suggest that Virgin Media is just overcrowded at the moment, and can't supply the consistency required for gaming?

Broadband Monday.PNGBroadband Tuesday.PNG

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tom_F
  • 2.8K
  • 160
  • 347
Forum Team
Forum Team
734 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High ping and latency issues (Hub 3.0)

Sorry to hear about the ongoing issues timothymorris. As things stand there are no capacity issues logged for the area and everything appears to be OK.

 

I appreciate your recent experience suggests otherwise though so we'll arrange further checks to try and get to the bottom of this. I'll send a PM shortly to confirm a few details & hope to hear back from you soon.

 

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply