Menu
Reply
robsmith1993
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,614 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

High latency

experiencing high latency and ping spikes which I assumed was down to over utilisation but even after peak times I am having these problems. I was gaming on halo after 12am and lagging everywhere. My friends who live on the same street who have virgin media don’t have any issues with lag so I’m trying to get to the root of the problem and not sure where the best place to start is. I’ve tried a few things like getting my own tp-link router but this hasn’t fixed the problems I’ve been having with online gaming.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.39K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.75K
Alessandro Volta
1,584 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

Pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

0 Kudos
Reply
robsmith1993
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,566 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

 
 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
165900000011.937256 qam32
253900000012.437256 qam17
35470000001237256 qam18
45550000001237256 qam19
556300000011.837256 qam20
657100000011.537256 qam21
757900000011.437256 qam22
858700000010.837256 qam23
959500000010.837256 qam24
106030000001137256 qam25
1161100000011.637256 qam26
1261900000011.638256 qam27
1362700000011.338256 qam28
1463500000011.937256 qam29
1564300000012.338256 qam30
1665100000012.437256 qam31
176670000001238256 qam33
1867500000011.838256 qam34
1968300000011.937256 qam35
206910000001238256 qam36
2169900000011.638256 qam37
227070000001238256 qam38
2371500000012.338256 qam39
2472300000012.638256 qam40


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked37.33490
2Locked37.6790
3Locked37.31090
4Locked37.6900
5Locked37.31090
6Locked37.6910
7Locked37.61150
8Locked37.61430
9Locked37.61720
10Locked37.61690
11Locked37.62010
12Locked38.62180
13Locked38.62480
14Locked37.32580
15Locked38.62660
16Locked37.63540
17Locked38.63610
18Locked38.64170
19Locked37.64130
20Locked38.63750
21Locked38.64380
22Locked38.64550
23Locked38.64440
24Locked38.64510
0 Kudos
Reply
robsmith1993
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,565 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

 
 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13260003639.5512064 qam5
22579998838512064 qam6
33940000938512064 qam4
44620000239.5512064 qam3
55370001739.5512064 qam2
66030000239.5512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
5ATDMA0000
6ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
robsmith1993
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,564 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

 
 

Network Log

Time Priority Description
18/12/2021 09:42:4noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2021 09:41:52Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2021 19:35:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2021 09:22:47noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2021 09:22:47ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2021 06:23:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/12/2021 15:48:37noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/12/2021 15:48:37ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2021 14:33:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2021 13:57:4noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2021 13:57:3ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2021 02:30:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2021 01:57:3noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2021 01:57:3ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2021 09:15:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/11/2021 00:12:8noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/11/2021 00:12:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/11/2021 21:10:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/11/2021 14:42:1noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/11/2021 14:42:1ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.39K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.75K
Alessandro Volta
1,471 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: High latency

Downstream power levels are too high.  I'll mark your post for forum staff to advise, they'll probably need to book a technician - fixing power levels is usually one of the easiest problems for a tech to resolve.

Although the 6 upstream channels are very odd - VM usually use 4 (and very, very rarely we see 5 reported).   I've been looking at hub status data in the forum for a few years now, and never seen 6 U/S channels reported before.  If you're in Eire then cable systems look similar but are configured differently with more upstream channels, and staff here won't be able to help.  

0 Kudos
Reply
robsmith1993
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,466 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

Ok thanks for reply, I am in England when i got virgin media I installed it myself because we had virgin media many years ago but switched to bt and I think I am having issues because maybe I need an attenuator (I’ve been on the forum looking at other peoples issues) what’s the quickest way for me to book a technician 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.39K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.75K
Alessandro Volta
1,450 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

You can try phoning it in, but dealing with the friendly forum staff is a lot more pleasant, and response times are usually good on Sunday mornings.  Personally I'd wait for them, but if you're willing to take the risk, phoning it in offers an exciting range of outcomes including actually getting things fixed, being trapped in circular menu hell, having a voice recognition bot misdiagnose the problem, waiting on hold for an hour, being cut off mid call, being passed from agent to agent without any help, being lied to, being told it's your wifi, or being advised that they'll send a signal to your hub that will magically cure it.  

0 Kudos
Reply
jem101
  • 4.22K
  • 433
  • 1.8K
Community elder
1,433 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

That does look as if the modem has managed to get itself in a bit of a state, as @Andrew-G says, the downstream levels are a bit high which can cause odd and exciting issues, it’s managed to confuse itself on what the upstream is doing but interestingly the logs aren’t showing any real problems at all!

Personally, I’d be tempted to do a full pinhole factory reset of the Hub (push a paperclip into the little reset hole until you feel the button click, hold it down for a full 60 seconds, let it go and allow the hub to restart itself). When it has struggled back to life, repost the stats and we’ll see if it has managed to sort itself out a bit better - I don’t expect the downstream power to change much, unless it’s actually fine anyway and it’s just the wonky hub firmware misreporting it.

If you do this then the hub will reset to as it was when first installed, including the WiFi names, passwords and login password, so make sure you know what these are (sticker on the base of the hub, I believe) and be prepared to make any changes back to how you want them.

0 Kudos
Reply
robsmith1993
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,429 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency

Ok I just reset it but power levels are still the same nothing has changed really:(

0 Kudos
Reply