Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
385 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

High latency and packet loss

Hi VM

Likek most people inthe country, im working from home. My employer provides a citrix service which allows me to RDP to my office desktop. We use Skype for business to communicate and hold conference calls and meetings. Several members of my team have been complaining about my poor call quality. Initially I thought it was my google wifi router, however,  after running simple tests on my line quality, it appears there is a high level of latency and packet loss's. If i use my iphone to tether, the amount of noise significantly reduces which points to my Virgin connection being the issue. I have connected my laptop directly to the modem, and same issues. Can you check whats causing this at my end?  

BQM

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f50e005506e4d4ea1a8bab0d7323fd4bd0cc9958

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14190000002.936256 qam30
2187000000-1.535256 qam7
3195000000-1.735256 qam8
4203000000-1.536256 qam9
5211000000-1.235256 qam10
6219000000-136256 qam11
7227000000-0.436256 qam12
8235000000-0.536256 qam13
9243000000-0.536256 qam14
10251000000-0.236256 qam15
11259000000-0.436256 qam16
12267000000036256 qam17
132750000000.536256 qam18
142830000000.736256 qam19
152910000000.936256 qam20
162990000001.436256 qam21
173070000001.236256 qam22
183150000001.536256 qam23
193230000001.736256 qam24
203790000002.536256 qam25
21387000000336256 qam26
223950000002.536256 qam27
234030000002.936256 qam28
244110000003.236256 qam

29

 

 

 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1603000434.825512064 qam1
2393999664.375512064 qam4
3461999814.525512064 qam3
4536999744.675512064 qam2

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID9294
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID9287
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 41
  • 5
  • 5
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
359 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

Hi. Sorry to hear about your troubles. Have you tried a pin hole rest? Are your cables tight?If  this does not sort the issue it looks like you will meed a tech visit. 


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 56
  • 1
  • 17
Dialled in
342 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

There's not quite enough history on your BQM yet to see if the line quality deteriorates during "peak hours" (8AM to 11PM) or whether it is consistently this bad. If the packet loss goes away and pings go down after 10-11PM, you're probably looking at a utilisation issue, especially if it's only now that you're starting to see these issues. Let the BQM run for another 24 hours and then see what the graph looks like.

If the BQM looks bad across a full 24-hour period, it is possible that you've always had poor line quality and that until now, you've not noticed it. If you rarely use ULL (Ultra-Low-Latency) applications like online games and VOIP services (like Discord voice calls, Skype calls, etc.) then you would not likely notice problems with packet loss - things like web browsers will just retry lost packets.

One other thing you could do is go to your Hub's status page and paste in the "Downstream bonded channels" section where it lists "Pre RS" and "Post RS Errors", to aid in troubleshooting.

Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
324 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

Hi

Many thanks for your response, what you say aboout utilisation is quite interesting. I work from home once a week generally and have quite a few calls throughout the day lasting 20 mins at a time, never had issues in the past. I do have a number of smart devices at home (22 connected items according to stats) which is why i dont use the Super Hub 3 as my Router, it just cant handle it. Will the utilisation concerns be on the WAN or LAN side? Im guessing WAN given the current situation with everyone at home?

The stats for Pre RS and Post RS are below.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.62860
2Locked35.723590
3Locked35.712810
4Locked36.39630
5Locked35.79600
6Locked36.36060
7Locked36.34300
8Locked36.34350
9Locked36.65790
10Locked36.35130
11Locked36.37520
12Locked36.36140
13Locked36.63690
14Locked36.34010
15Locked36.34180
16Locked36.33820
17Locked36.32920
18Locked36.62720
19Locked36.33520
20Locked36.33400
21Locked36.32460
22Locked36.33370
23Locked36.63140
24Locked36.32620
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
284 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

Spoke to Tech Support this morning and they confirmed they found a fault in the area a few days ago and there is a scheduled fix for Monday (F007906278).

In the meantime I have upgraded to M350 from M100 to hopefully get a priority network. 

This is the new BQM given the external IP has changed. still seeing noise

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/e67fbc68886c141b41867330c1aef1106a10ce7b-02-04-2020

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
261 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

tried the pinhole reset, did work

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
246 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

the pinhole reset worked for you?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
245 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

Apologies. I meant it DID NOT work

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
222 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency and packet loss

So even with upgrading to M350, it appears to have made no difference to the latency and packet losses.

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/492ac6e34695a7c657b634c2647076a7667f2d4c

 

0 Kudos
Reply