Menu
Reply
dnev
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
295 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

High Packet Loss at all times

For several months now I have been experiencing issues with packet loss and accompanying ping spikes on my Virgin media connection, most noticeable while gaming. In game statistics and manual tests with iperf3 show this packet loss only occurs on packets transmitted rather than received, and this occurs randomly at all times of day rather than just during peak hours, as seen in the following BQM graph:

bqm.png

This graph does not look to me to indicate the same overutilization issue that appears to be such a problem for other users on the forum since the issue is persistent throughout the day and night, and it's worth noting (perhaps coincidentally) the latency spikes coincide almost exactly with our own usage of the connection:

unifi.png

Taking a look at the upstream status, the power levels are all on the high end but I understand are all just within the acceptable range?

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000050.5512064 qam3
23940000049512064 qam4
35370000050.5512064 qam2
46030000051512064 qam1

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0040
2ATDMA00110
3ATDMA0090
4ATDMA0090

I'll include the remaining status pages in a reply, as I was exceeded the character limit for this post when including them.

The Hub3 is in modem mode, and using a UDM-Pro as the router, so there should be no issue there (this issue has also been prevalent since before installing this anyway). While investigating this issue, I also noticed there have been a couple occasions where the speed fell below Virgin's guaranteed minimum for the 500Mbps package, although this could be unrelated and I'm not certain what service Unifi use for the tests:

uspeedtest.png

Does anybody have any suggestions as to what might be the issue?

Many thanks,

David

0 Kudos
Reply
dnev
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
294 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

The remaining status pages:

Downstream Bonded Channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1435000000-0.438256 qam36
2251000000-0.538256 qam15
3259000000-0.538256 qam16
4267000000-0.537256 qam17
5275000000-0.538256 qam18
6283000000-0.438256 qam19
7291000000-0.238256 qam20
8299000000037256 qam21
9307000000038256 qam22
103150000000.238256 qam23
113230000000.738256 qam24
123470000000.538256 qam25
13355000000040256 qam26
14363000000038256 qam27
15371000000038256 qam28
16379000000038256 qam29
17387000000038256 qam30
18395000000038256 qam31
19403000000-0.238256 qam32
20411000000038256 qam33
21419000000-0.238256 qam34
22427000000-0.238256 qam35
23443000000-0.538256 qam37
24451000000-0.538256 qam38

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6262027
2Locked38.63713952
3Locked38.64797621
4Locked37.65279827
5Locked38.63785345
6Locked38.62660943
7Locked38.6224490
8Locked37.6265230
9Locked38.9140330
10Locked38.61276043
11Locked38.9694342
12Locked38.937939
13Locked40.343635
14Locked38.934614
15Locked38.929200
16Locked38.922690
17Locked38.921340
18Locked38.624584
19Locked38.625031
20Locked38.924580
21Locked38.624310
22Locked38.9283314
23Locked38.9238838
24Locked38.913120

Network Log

Time Priority Description

16/01/2021 05:51:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 21:31:59noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 21:31:59ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 14:04:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 09:31:59noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 09:31:59ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 03:59:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2021 21:31:58noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2021 21:31:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/01/2021 02:46:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 09:31:58noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 09:31:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/01/2021 12:54:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/2021 21:31:58noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/2021 21:31:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/12/2020 15:54:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
243 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

Your upstream power levels are rather high and there's quite a few timeouts, which might be the cause of this. I've flagged it for staff to advise - you may need a technician (which they can arrange) or it could be an area SNR fault which won't require a visit, but should have a fix date.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

David_Bn
  • 4.32K
  • 200
  • 348
Forum Team
Forum Team
240 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

Good Morning dnev,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and a very warm welcome to you!

 

Sorry to see you've been experiencing high packet loss on your broadband connection

 

I've looked into your account but the hub is currently marked as unreachable. Can you please tell me if the hub is currently switch on?

 

When the hub is marked as unreachable, I'm unable to look at the stats of the hub

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply
dnev
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
223 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

Thanks for the help,

The hub has been switched on and connected all day

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
220 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

It needs to be in router mode for the forum staff to interrogate the status. Also, after a restart (which happens when you switch hub mode) that will clear all error counters, and cause the hub to renegotiate all channels, so initially power and noise levels may look a model of sweetness and light.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

dnev
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
214 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

Thanks for that. I have now put the hub into router mode - the power levels are already back to pretty much what they were before the restart.

0 Kudos
Reply
Paul_DN
  • 5.23K
  • 306
  • 547
Forum Team
Forum Team
195 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

Hi dnev,

 

Thanks for coming back, I have had another look however we still aren't able to see the router, 

 

Can you reboot it check all the cables are hand tight and we will check this again.

 

Regards

 

Paul.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
dnev
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
187 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

I've rebooted it again, and the cables were all tight.

0 Kudos
Reply
Paul_DN
  • 5.23K
  • 306
  • 547
Forum Team
Forum Team
181 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Packet Loss at all times

Hi Dnev,

 

 

 

so I can help further I will send you an invite into a private chat, please click on the purple envelope to accept.

 

 


Regards

 

Paul.
 

0 Kudos
Reply