Menu
Reply
Redfokx
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
902 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Dropped frames problem when streaming

I've been having a problem with my stream where I seem to be dropping frames no matter what settings I use, It's usually fine to start the stream off within first minute or so I get 0 dropped frames but as the stream goes on it gradually gets worse and worse. I've watched numerous videos where people say it's got nothing to do with OBS/Streamlabs which I'm beginning to think might be the correct answer and may be to do with my internet. I have 2 ISP's linked up to my house one of which gives me 350 download and 30 upload which is where I get very bad frame drops during streaming, where as the other one I only have 35 download and 6 upload which seems to be way more stable until certain points where it craps the bed.

Recently upgraded my PC but my old one used to have same problem and I just thought it was because my PC wasn't great but now I am beginning to sense that's not the case sadly.

PC Specs - AMD Ryzen 9 5900x , Nvidia 1060 GTX , 32gb RAM ,

 
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
885 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

For both connections, setup a BQM over at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality that might well show what's going on with them.  Post a link to a live, shared graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can post immediately.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Redfokx
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
852 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

Thanks for the suggestion I've made the graph for my Virgin media box link is here - 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f87962b4773f73d146122d17381d41c9ed... 
<a title="Broadband Ping" href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f87962b4773f73d146122d17381d41c9ed163d47"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media Connection" src="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/thumb/f87962b4773f73d146122d17381d41c9ed163d47.png" /></a>
0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 849
  • 27
  • 253
Well-informed
825 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

The BQM is showing packet loss, thats not good.

Nice cpu by the way.

 

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Lagfest Modem Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
Redfokx
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
806 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

Thanks, I think the links are bugged I can't use my personal link to my own graph for some reason but started it this morning and this is what its looking like right now.

[MOD EDIT: LINK REMOVED AS I.P ADDRESS DISPLAYED]

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
800 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

Kill that link, it shows your IP address.  And your previous posted link works fine for me.  That's the point of the "share" option, that it obscures your IP address.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
798 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

Since we can see you're getting packet loss, probably makes sense to look at the hub's status data.  Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as text, not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Redfokx
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
777 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

 thanks for removing link didn't realize it showed my IP 😕

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12030000002.738256 qam9
21390000002.738256 qam1
31470000002.738256 qam2
4155000000338256 qam3
5163000000338256 qam4
6171000000338256 qam5
7179000000338256 qam6
8187000000338256 qam7
9195000000338256 qam8
102110000002.738256 qam10
112190000002.738256 qam11
122270000002.738256 qam12
132350000002.538256 qam13
142430000002.538256 qam14
152510000002.538256 qam15
162590000002.538256 qam16
172670000002.538256 qam17
182750000002.238256 qam18
192830000002.238256 qam19
202910000002.238256 qam20
212990000002.238256 qam21
223070000002.238256 qam22
233150000002.438256 qam23
243230000002.538256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.9350
2Locked38.9630
3Locked38.61400
4Locked38.91160
5Locked38.9610
6Locked38.6690
7Locked38.9670
8Locked38.9330
9Locked38.9590
10Locked38.62860
11Locked38.6300
12Locked38.9430
13Locked38.6780
14Locked38.9770
15Locked38.9360
16Locked38.9480
17Locked38.6330
18Locked38.91620
19Locked38.9320
20Locked38.9730
21Locked38.6550
22Locked38.9330
23Locked38.9290
24Locked38.6680

 

 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000031.5512032 qam6
22580000032512064 qam8
33260000031.8512064 qam7
44620000031.5512064 qam5

 Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0040
2ATDMA00130
3ATDMA00110
4ATDMA00110

 

 
0 Kudos
Reply
Redfokx
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
767 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

network logs are here

Network Log

Time Priority Description

10/05/2021 19:34:39Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2021 15:02:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/05/2021 17:15:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/05/2021 12:07:1ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/05/2021 13:41:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/05/2021 04:57:12ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 13:40:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 16:57:12ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 22:13:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 15:51:59ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 02:33:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/04/2021 05:02:39ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2021 00:21:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 17:02:39ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2021 12:49:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2021 05:02:39ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/04/2021 14:44:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/04/2021 17:02:39ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/04/2021 07:37:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/04/2021 05:02:39ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Redfokx
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
719 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dropped frames problem when streaming

Any suggestions/Ideas of whats happening?
0 Kudos
Reply