Menu
Reply
Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
878 Views
Message 1 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Bqm for gaming

 

Can someone have a look at my graph I struggle with warzone as much as others but I’ve done a graph if anyone can see anything unusual.

 

[url=https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/34480bbea09314b4651fa711efff4ab957ac7fa4-14-12-2020]My Broadband Ping[/url
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.13K
  • 1.36K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
833 Views
Message 2 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Looks like a noisy connection.  That's usually resolvable.  Post the hub's status data (as text, not screenshots) for Downstream, Upstream, Network log and we can take a look and advise.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
826 Views
Message 3 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Router status
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14027500002.740256 qam30
21947500001.240256 qam8
32027500001.240256 qam9
4210750000140256 qam10
5218750000140256 qam11
6226750000140256 qam12
72347500001.240256 qam13
82427500001.540256 qam14
9250750000240256 qam15
102587500002.240256 qam16
112667500002.240256 qam17
12274750000240256 qam18
13282750000240256 qam19
14290750000240256 qam20
152987500002.440256 qam21
163067500002.740256 qam22
173147500002.740256 qam23
18322750000340256 qam24
19330750000340256 qam25
203707500002.740256 qam26
21378750000340256 qam27
223867500002.740256 qam28
23394750000340256 qam29
244107500003.240256 qam31


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.300
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.350
5Locked40.340
6Locked40.340
7Locked40.950
8Locked40.350
9Locked40.960
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.340
12Locked40.960
13Locked40.950
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.950
17Locked40.350
18Locked40.950
19Locked40.300
20Locked40.320
21Locked40.940
22Locked40.3110
23Locked40.950
24Locked40.950
0 Kudos
Reply
Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
825 Views
Message 4 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000049.3512064 qam6
26030000049.5512064 qam5
34620000049.5512064 qam7
43940000049.3512064 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
824 Views
Message 5 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Network Log

Time Priority Description

15/12/2020 10:09:7noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:49Warning!ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/12/2020 06:53:12noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/12/2020 20:17:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2020 04:12:39noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2020 21:38:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2020 07:01:47noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/12/2020 02:06:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 22:28:53noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 22:09:17ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 15:33:54noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 03:53:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2020 13:59:49noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2020 12:28:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 11:42:28noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 11:42:6Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 11:18:58criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 11:18:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2020 11:18:57criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.13K
  • 1.36K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
798 Views
Message 6 of 25
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Bqm for gaming

Power levels and downstream SNR are fine, upstream power levels are close to the maximum which often implies upstream noise, there's a couple of T3 timeouts showing for upstream channel 1, and the log shows a spattering of timeouts that occur every day or two, and on 5/12 that extended to loss of synchronisation and channel loss.  I still suspect upstream noise and if I'm right that would be resolvable, but whether VM will send out a technician I can't say, and I'm not at all hopeful.  I would anticipate that the company response will be "all looks good from our side".  And you'll have to endure the diabolical phone support to even get that far.  There's a small possibility it might be a loose connection of the coax lead to the hub, so worth disconnecting and reconnecting at both ends, but again, I can't hold out much hope.

If you keep an eye on the upstream, then if you can find an instance where either the modulation drops from 4 x 64 QAM, or power levels hit or exceed 50 dBmV then that might be sufficient to get a technician. 

Also, don't forget that it's game and console release season.  Problems may be specific to internet traffic routing or gaming server performance, both of which are outside VM's control.   

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
793 Views
Message 7 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Thanks for your help I did a full reset on the router today and started a new bqm so see what it looks like, will check all cables tomorrow will unscrew and redo just to check, could the cable outside the house be degrading as it’s been in a long time and could have wear and tear as we are a corner terrace house the cable runs along the wall from the brown box.

0 Kudos
Reply
Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
773 Views
Message 8 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Today’s graph 

 

<a title="Broadband Ping" href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f030ffa7af55065e1968ef4730a1490f82ef0506"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - Lee broadband " src="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/thumb/f030ffa7af55065e1968ef4730a1490f82ef0506.png" /></a>
0 Kudos
Reply
Leestokey
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
754 Views
Message 9 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bqm for gaming

Link for today will check all connections is there anything to clean them with.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b0984e9963536c75a42bd3786d0d20c5ccaedec3-16-12-2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.13K
  • 1.36K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
747 Views
Message 10 of 25
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Bqm for gaming

Interesting thing about that BQM is that it's very "clean" from midnight to 8am.  Which suggests that your local circuit is just, just everso-slightly hitting a capacity constraint.  That's not the cable, hub or connections on your property, it's something on the VM network gear at the head of the local co-ax network.

In VM terms, this sort of problem is "over-utilisation", but based on what I see in this forum, the company wouldn't formally recognise your connection as having over-utilisation given the level of performance your BQM shows.  And it won't make things better for you, but in most instances of over-utilisation performance is dramatically and consistently worse.  

Of late we've had a further lockdown, and the start of the 2020 game and console release cycle, both of which have driven traffic up hugely.  So there's some reasonable hope that the problem will fade away when those influences decline, and my advice is to wait and see for a month or two.  If the problem persists then it may be simple over-selling of capacity by VM, and the solution is normally to get yourself a new ISP.  But if you go down new ISP route, check if you're liable for any VM early termination fees because you're in a fixed term contract, and make sure you speak to a competent ISP (AAISP, uno, Aquiss, IDNet, CIX, Zen Internet) to establish your expected speed and whether there's any existing contention (over-utilisation) issues on the Openreach network around you.  Failure to do the first could land you with a big bill, failure to do the second could mean you jump ship and find the situation is no better, but your broadband is slower.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks