Menu
RTC87
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Awful wifi gaming performance

Hi all, I will preface this by saying I'm new to Virgin and in my cooling off period until this saturday so really need to make a decision how to proceed.

After having an initial problem which I thought was over utilisation latency (still may be the major factor) I have done some testing while connected to the PS5 via ethernet and WIFI and found results crazily different.

I have the 200MB package and while connected via ethernet at around 6PM the PS5 was displaying a consistent 170MB download speed and achieve Call of Duty latency at 30-50ms (not fantastic but given the times I can live with that).

Over Wifi I am getting download speeds of 1MB (YES ONE!) varying all the way to 130MB and changing almost every other minute. My latency shoots up in game to 180ms - 400ms which is unplayable. At the time of testing the only other device actively using the network was my daughters tablet which was on a Zoom call. Said call was active during both tests.

Below is a link to my BQM and also a snapshot of activity, can anyone offer any insight or advice. The Hub in located in the room across from where the console is and longterm ethernet connectivity is impractical.

Any helpful will be much appreciated.

BQM -

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/64c3d7e41f465695572b5a79b798e5e33c...

[url=https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/64c3d7e41f465695572b5a79b798e5e33c...]

0 Kudos
Andruser
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful wifi gaming performance