Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 68
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
908 Views
Message 1 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Awful delay after engineer visit

How is this possible, seriously? I know there was an infamous latency bug but this is a different issue

I hadn't online gamed in over a year due to the puma chipset bug, but then i returned recently and to my surprise, it seemed to be fixed as i wasn't getting button delay/lag.

But what happened is we had a power cut for 10mins and then had no telephone line, an engineer came around and ended up telling us that one of the extensions must've fused and caused a corruption, but he got the main line working again with the others down for now

However, to my surprise he said about checking the modem as the power levels could've been an issue (with the power cut). He then ended up replacing it (the SH3) with another SH3.

But as soon as he left and i went online to game the delay is back in full force and is AWFUL. Absolutely unplayable and something is clearly very wrong after this visit

Could it be to do with the cabling? Any other ideas if not? Horrible feeling when I was just enjoying gaming again only for it to go so badly corrupt like this.

He's coming back on Monday so I want a good idea of what to say regarding this issue, it's been persistent for a long time but i resigned myself to the fact it was "supposedly" the puma chipset issue, but clearly NOT!

It's something else and I desperately need some help here. Thank you, Patrick

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.14K
  • 1.1K
  • 3.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
882 Views
Message 2 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

puma chipset problems were helped [not cured] by a firmware update - afaik that firmware does not come on the hub when installed by a tech so it is downloaded - that may not have happened - what firmware is the hub reporting - to force an update you can power cycle the hub - do that and see if the firmware number changes - you might have to power cycle it a few times to force it

how are you connected - if wired the ok but if via wifi have you split the channels and turned off smart wifi

finally [for now] post the levels from the hub and the network log

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream


____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 68
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
872 Views
Message 3 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

Thanks Tony, i'm aware of the firmware update as i looked into it a lot at the time, i'm on the .613 so the latest firmware as far as i'm aware.

Nothing has changed regarding my setup, i immediately put it into modem mode to use with our own router, which all worked fine until after this visit. I am on wired. Since i posted this topic we've had one outage (which was brief, but never happened prior) - something clearly isn't right. That and the delay on gaming continues to be awful

The power levels are:

Downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14267500001240256 qam28
218675000012.140256 qam7
319475000012.140256 qam8
420275000011.940256 qam9
521075000011.540256 qam10
621875000011.140256 qam11
722675000010.538256 qam12
823475000010.540256 qam13
924275000010.540256 qam14
1025075000010.840256 qam15
1125875000010.940256 qam16
122667500001140256 qam17
132747500001140256 qam18
1428275000011.440256 qam19
1529075000011.840256 qam20
162987500001240256 qam21
173067500001240256 qam22
1831475000012.340256 qam23
1932275000012.540256 qam24
204027500001240256 qam25
2141075000012.340256 qam26
2241875000012.340256 qam27
234347500001240256 qam29
2444275000012.140256 qam30

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1358000243.5512064 qam2
2537000093.5512064 qam4
3274000143.5512064 qam3
4458000293.5512064 qam1

 

Just so you know these have changed massively since last night when i checked, my downstream levels were around 7/8 and my upstream was 5.1.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.14K
  • 1.1K
  • 3.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
852 Views
Message 4 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

for a start your downstream is way out of spec +10 is the max and lower than that is better - if you have any attenuators add one and see if that helps

if the tech left it like that he wants a boot up the rear 

if you have no attenuators then you need a tech so lets get the ball rolling

@ModTeam- unless the OP can sort a crap repair he needs a tech to sort out the last techs rubbish settings

____________________

Tony
Highlighted
  • 2.42K
  • 384
  • 934
Problem sorter
852 Views
Message 5 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

In the perhaps forlorn hope that VM have a quality improvement or suggestions scheme, can I ask the forum staff to suggest that in circumstances like these  where it seems likely that an attenuator might be a decent resolution based on the forums (or remote diagnostics, if VM employees can see the hub stats), why not just post out an attenuator for the customer to fit? 

These are an in line screw fitting, for VM these will be a 50p part, and the fitting is nothing VM don't already ask a customer to do eg for a posted-out hub upgrade.  Faster for the customer, saves a tech visit that takes longer to organise, and I'd guess the tech visit costs a minimum of about £75 when including tech time x utilisation, transport, scheduling, logistics, all back office loading including training, equipment, IT, HR, payroll, IT.  If a self install attenuator doesn't work that's the time to send a technician out.  The same applies for longer cables to move the hub.  VM charge £99, and that angers customers, persuades some to buy their own unsuitable cables that cause knock-on problems, and I'll wager the company still make little profit on the £99 install, so why not sell them pre-made in 3, 5, 10, 15 metre lengths exactly to VM requirements, posted out for the customer to fit themselves, priced at (say) £5 a metre, using a chosen SME third party cable supplier (like one of the ones already claiming to sell VM compatible cables)?

Better customer service, lower costs to customers and VM, more tech time to address real tech problems, and more rewarding work for the field techs.

Highlighted
  • 68
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
848 Views
Message 6 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

Cheers again Tony for the information

Just wanted to re-clarify, the downstream last night (after he left) was at 7/8, but yes that's changed now to 12 which is way out of spec like you said

I don't have any attenuators but honestly wouldn't know how to do that either

Tech seemed a nice guy to be honest but obviously i have not been happy since he left and discovered the delay/lag/outage when it was fine beforehand

Can you confirm that delay etc can occur when the power levels are dodgy? Is there anything else, such as cabling that could affect this? He also went to our local source to do things, no idea what. So he could've messed something up there as well.

I'll be telling him this before he does anything else when he comes back on Monday which is pre-arranged, but maybe I should have no faith he will fix it as he might not know what he's doing.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.64K
  • 88
  • 155
Forum Team
Forum Team
808 Views
Message 7 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

Hi patch22,

 

Sorry to hear that you're experiencing ongoing broadband issues after a engineer visit.

 

I'm going to send you a Private Message asking for more details. Please reply to it so I can take a look at your broadband details.

 

Thanks,

 

Lisa

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.7K
  • 55
  • 206
Super solver
797 Views
Message 8 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

Its also amazing how many VM engineers say "they don't know of the puma chipset issues".

--
Red (VM SH2 AC Beta tester)
Running on 350Mb VM service with SH3 in Modem Mode, with a ASUS RT-AC5300 router. With this setup I get Fantastic WIRED and WIRELESS Signals in my home. I dont work for VM. But I work in IT, and I know my tech.
My advice is at your own risk. If you are happy with my answers please press Kudo ?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 68
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
779 Views
Message 9 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

Thanks Lisa, still waiting for the PM but with the engineer coming tomorrow i don't know what can be said or done

Just wanted any more possible information on what could cause this so I could pass it on to him tomorrow, but the power levels are still way off with the problems still present

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.64K
  • 88
  • 155
Forum Team
Forum Team
758 Views
Message 10 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Awful delay after engineer visit

Sorry I forgot to send you a Private Message. I'll send you one now so I can take a look at your account.

 

Regards,

 

Lisa

0 Kudos
Reply