Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Apex Legends Packet Loss

I'm not a big online gamer, but have recently got hooked on Apex Legends.  I play on PS4 Pro and have been playing since April.  I tend to play on a daily basis unless away or super busy.

Shortly after I started playing Apex, I become aware of an option to view a list of servers from the start screen and, ever since, I have used this feature to ensure that the server I'm connecting to has the lowest ping.

As well as ping, this server list also shows packet loss.  For the first few months, pretty much all servers (or at least the European ones) had zero packet loss.  However, for the last couple of months (since early July is my best guess), I'm commonly getting packet loss results between 2% and 8% on a number of servers and I'm getting noticeable issues in game (hits not registering and rubber banding).

The reported packet loss on the server list varies each time I launch the game and doesn't seem to have a set pattern.  There also doesn't seem to be any correlation between the packet loss % and the server location/ping (i.e. sometimes the reported packet loss is lower for the international servers despite the fact that these servers have a much higher ping).  The only common thread is that there are always some servers with packet loss.

The two servers that I normally connect to (London and Amsterdam) usually have a packet loss of 2%.  They sometimes have a packet loss of 0%, but this is rare.  The ping to these servers is pretty decent and usually around 20ms.

I have a Super Hub 3 and my PS4 is usually connected by an Ethernet cable.  I did some testing today and found out the following:

• If I connect my PS4 to the Super Hub by Wi-Fi the packet loss problem still occurs - so the problem does not appear to be due to a faulty Ethernet cable.