Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
756 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

100% packet loss

i cant play any games online at all on PS3 PS4 or PC

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200004
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000638256 qam21
21390000008.138256 qam1
3147000000838256 qam2
41550000007.638256 qam3
51630000007.538256 qam4
61710000007.538256 qam5
71790000007.438256 qam6
81870000007.338256 qam7
91950000007.138256 qam8
10203000000738256 qam9
11211000000738256 qam10
122190000006.938256 qam11
132270000006.838256 qam12
142350000006.638256 qam13
152430000006.538256 qam14
162510000006.538256 qam15
172590000006.538256 qam16
182670000006.538256 qam17
192750000006.138256 qam18
202830000006.338256 qam19
21291000000638256 qam20
223070000006.138256 qam22
23315000000738256 qam23
243230000007.538256 qam24

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
755 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.61880
2Locked38.69822
3Locked38.91400
4Locked38.61120
5Locked38.91120
6Locked38.611529
7Locked38.61020
8Locked38.61230
9Locked38.91260
10Locked38.61020
11Locked38.61140
12Locked38.91170
13Locked38.61090
14Locked38.91040
15Locked38.61140
16Locked38.61140
17Locked38.61360
18Locked38.61971390
19Locked38.61310
20Locked38.611913
21Locked38.91452
22Locked38.91360
23Locked38.91110
24Locked38.91240

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000043.975512016 qam1
2257999933.825512016 qam4
3325999933.825512016 qam3
4393999883.825512016 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
754 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss

Network Log

Time Priority Description

31/05/2019 09:03:25ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2019 12:23:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2019 14:19:14ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2019 19:35:8ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2019 19:35:8noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2019 17:24:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2019 05:17:0ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2019 06:50:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2019 19:41:48ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2019 10:06:40ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2019 10:06:40noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/06/2019 03:59:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/06/2019 07:47:31ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/06/2019 10:39:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/06/2019 23:32:32ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2019 02:31:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2019 07:25:2ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2019 15:17:35ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2019 15:17:35noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2019 16:46:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 102
  • 5
  • 17
Up to speed
721 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss

i had a similar problem last week losing 99% packets when starting to stream, after no end of restarts to my hub 3 i finally rang 150, faults. the online test said there was a problem and sent a hit to my box. problem fixed.

try it, you never know.
https://www.twitch.tv/ziltoidtv
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18.2K
  • 1.03K
  • 7.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
708 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss

I think more information is needed here:

Those connection stats are actually spot on, downstreams are normal, I suspect the few Post RS errors you are seeing are holdovers from the bootup, while one channel has a more Pre RS errors, there are no Post RS errors in that channel.

Upstreams are sweet too.  And the logs actually show normal DHCP behaviour between the hub and Virgin Media's DHCP server.  The servers ignore DHCP renew until the hub gets to the REBIND state, the message about invalid parameter has appeared on all connections on all hubs for years but doesn't affect the connection.

How are the devices connected to the hub?

Tim

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
676 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss

Every device is attached with a eathernet cable. i tried ringing virgin media and all they was interested in was trying to sell me gadget support for £20. i have tried port forwarding, modem mode and DMZ on my home hub 3.0 but nothing worked.

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - Loss% | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.1 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 3 | 9 | 13 | 7 |
| 10.249.96.1 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 8 | 9 | 21 | 8 |
|pres-core-2a-xe-016-0.network.virginmedia.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 8 | 10 | 22 | 8 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk - 0 | 18 | 18 | 20 | 24 | 37 | 21 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| uk-lon03a-ri1-ae2-0.aorta.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 20 | 23 | 38 | 21 |
| 213.46.175.254 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 21 | 28 | 63 | 22 |
| ae1-br01-eqld5.as57976.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 29 | 34 | 81 | 29 |
| et-0-0-2-br02-eqam1.as57976.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 30 | 36 | 95 | 38 |
| et-0-0-67-pe01-eqam1.as57976.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 28 | 36 | 93 | 28 |
| 137.221.66.41 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 29 | 32 | 43 | 34 |
| 185.60.112.158 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 28 | 31 | 44 | 29 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

I have underlined the packet loss
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 102
  • 5
  • 17
Up to speed
662 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss

it's the automated part of faults that fixed my problem, i never spoke to a person. when the test failed it sent a hit out to my router and bingo!
https://www.twitch.tv/ziltoidtv
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18.2K
  • 1.03K
  • 7.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
655 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100% packet loss


@mattimozz wrote:

Every device is attached with a eathernet cable. i tried ringing virgin media and all they was interested in was trying to sell me gadget support for £20. i have tried port forwarding, modem mode and DMZ on my home hub 3.0 but nothing worked.

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - Loss% | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.1 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 3 | 9 | 13 | 7 |
| 10.249.96.1 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 8 | 9 | 21 | 8 |
|pres-core-2a-xe-016-0.network.virginmedia.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 8 | 10 | 22 | 8 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk - 0 | 18 | 18 | 20 | 24 | 37 | 21 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| uk-lon03a-ri1-ae2-0.aorta.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 20 | 23 | 38 | 21 |
| 213.46.175.254 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 21 | 28 | 63 | 22 |
| ae1-br01-eqld5.as57976.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 29 | 34 | 81 | 29 |
| et-0-0-2-br02-eqam1.as57976.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 30 | 36 | 95 | 38 |
| et-0-0-67-pe01-eqam1.as57976.net - 0 | 18 | 18 | 28 | 36 | 93 | 28 |
| 137.221.66.41 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 29 | 32 | 43 | 34 |
| 185.60.112.158 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 28 | 31 | 44 | 29 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

I have underlined the packet loss
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider


You need to learn how to read traceroutes I'm afraid.

1. Start at the end - is there any packet loss there?

 185.60.112.158 - 0 | 18 | 18 | 28 | 31 | 44 | 29 |

Answer no.

We have 18 packets sent, 18 received. 
Best response 28ms
Average response 31 ms
Worst response 44ms
Last response (that was from packet 18) 29ms.

So if there really was a problem further down the chain, why aren't you seeing it here?

Answer, because it's a red herring, and it's one that catches a lot of people out, (including me I might add).

Traceroutes work by sending a packet towards the destination, but they start with a TTL of one and increase the TTL until the response indicates the packet has reached it's destination.  WinMTR works exactly the same way except it repeats the process indefinitely.

For an internet packet, the TTL is the amount of hops it can traverse before it expires, each time it hits a router the TTL is decreased by one, this stops packets from staying live forever.

If the TTL reaches zero before the packet gets to it's destination most hosts SHOULD send back an ICMP packet reporting the fact.

23	30.532241	62.252.192.246	192.168.0.10	ICMP	70	Time-to-live exceeded (Time to live exceeded in transit)

But some internet routers don't do this, however that doesn't mean they aren't doing what they are supposed to be doing, that is forwarding packets onwards to their destinations.  They're just not telling you that these particular packets aren't going to get there.

BTW If the final hop is configured so it doesn't respond to a tracert you can get a seemingly failed tracert on a working connection.

Here's a tracert to google.com

C:\Users\timdu>tracert google.com

Tracing route to google.com [216.58.204.78]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    12 ms    11 ms    10 ms  perr-core-2a-xe-706-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.32.237]
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5    20 ms    20 ms    18 ms  tcl5-ic-4-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.192.246]
  6    19 ms    18 ms    18 ms  74.125.146.216
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8    22 ms    20 ms    26 ms  lhr25s13-in-f14.1e100.net [216.58.204.78]

Trace complete.

And here's a Wireshark trace showing the outgoing ICMP echo requests and the returning packets for the trace.

WiresharkTracert.PNG

The (no response found) refers to the normal echo reply packets that are expected back.  We only see those when the increasing TTL finally allows the packets to reach the target IP.

By all means use tracert and WinMTR when diagnosing a problem, but do learn how to use them properly.

While you may indeed have a problem, and by all means I'm not saying that you don't.  There's nothing unusual in that WinMTR trace.  The 100% packet loss in the intermediate hops is not the smoking gun you are looking for.

Tim

Note: I do always get amazed when support for people like Blizzard or EA get traceroutes wrong, so you're in good company BTW.  I do hope my explanation has helped you understand what you are seeing.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped