Menu
yakacm
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

spam

Getting massive amounts of spam ATM, at first it was about Norton and Mcafee, but the last couple of days the emails are saying I have a subscription for something or other that is running out, or the emails are just nonsense, looks like the attacker script ain't working properly and is just sending out malformed emails, or it's saying I have loadsa viruses and need to do something about it. I know others are getting the same as they have posted about it here, I just wanted to chime in so that VM knows the extent of the issue and maybe does something about it. It would be easy to block if they were coming from a single domain, but they use a different domain every time, or at least they are using numerous domains, I have been blocking sender for each email I get.

Zak_M
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: spam

Thank you for your post @Yakam 

We are aware of this issues and are looking at the best ways we are able to help. 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
LS28Girl
Tuning in
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Same here loads of e mails from Norton, Bull, McAfee about subscriptions expiring and a Bitcoin account I don't have and a new one Funeral Payment Schemes[!] - all spam.  I'm getting totally fed up with it, it's been happening for 2/3 weeks now.   Given the nonsense addresses these messages come from surely it must be possible for Virgin Media to apply an algorithm to stop them even reaching our in boxes?   Yes I have been blacklisting the senders but like I say - why can't VM do it?

Rant over!

0 Kudos
boothy99
Fibre optic
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hi yacacm & LS28Girl,

It's an ongoing problem, but in the main, most scum-spam gets sent to the spam folder by using a filter. The Blacklist is a waste of time and effort, as the "from" addresses change too frequently for it to be any use.