it was part of the T&C. it should of been deleted when you left the service. Depending on what server you had when you got the email depends on what the terms were. But you agreed to them (including losing the email) when you signed up
Hmmm, the only thing I ever got from Virgin was the email address (for free back then) , never signed up for any other services, so I have not left anything as such that would have terminated my email.