Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Virgin.net Email Address stopped working

I have got a virgin.net email address which I have been using for at least 18 years. Last Wednesday it suddenly stopped working.  I have contacted Virgin Media various times who have told me it was sold late last year to talk talk and to contact them.

I have over the last 2 days been on and off online chat and the phone to talk talk who one person says they support it but I need to sign up to mail plus costing £5 per month and then they can help, I have tried doing that but cannot register as do not have a talk talk account.  I have just rang them again to be told they did buy virgin.net emails but have now been told that they have been discontinued and to contact Virgin again?

I really don't know what to do as being passed from Virgin to talk talk and not getting anywhere.   I really need to check my emails even to try and transfer to another email but concerned there are important ones there.

Im hoping someone can please help me!

Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin.net Email Address stopped working

Sorry, but you are being led on a wild goose chase by both the VM operators and the Talk Talk people.

A few years ago VM sold its adsl (broadband over the telephone line) service to Talk Talk. Customers were able to continue to use their vigin.net email addresses for a period of 12 months. The email servers continued to be maintained by VM and Talk Talk had no access to them.  After 12 months the email addresses were supposed to be closed down, unless the account holder took out a VM broadband account and had the address moved to the new account.

Enough of the background.