Menu
Dee67
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Thunderbird Password problem with Virgin Media

Hi

My husband and I have been using Thunderbird as our email program for the last 12 years or so and never had any problems till yesterday.

My husband has no problems receiving his emails but when mine download I get the following error message..

"Sending of password for user [MOD EDIT: Removed] did not succeed. Mail server pop3.virginmedia.com responded: [AUTH] Authentication failed."

We have not changed anything in the last few days and we are stumped as to what the problem is, can anyone please help.

Thanks7

Dorothy

0 Kudos
Graham_A
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Thunderbird Password problem with Virgin Media

I have asked the Moderators to obscure your email address in order to help protect your privacy.  You should never post personal details in a public space.

The message you see in Thunderbird may be disguising another issue.  What happens if you try to sign into your email address via the webmail page in a browser https://mail2.virginmedia.com/

I suspect you may see a 'Mailbox unavailable message ... please try later...'. 

Please check this and post back with the result. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media, I'm a VM customer. There are no guarantees that my advice will work. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Dee67
Joining in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hi Graham

Silly mistake from me including my email address, thanks for removing it. I clicked your link and the message states..

"Sorry

Your mailbox is not available at the moment.

Please retry again in one hour and make sure you are using the correct password to access your email from all of your devices.