Menu
PI
Tuning in
Message 1 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Spam & Data Breach

Virgin have breached my data and left my information open for 10 months or so.  I'm receiving lots of Spam is there a connection? I'm blacklisting these senders and marking as spam but this does not seem to be helping as the same are getting through? What is Virgin doing about this?

george_g
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Spam & Data Breach

the easiest way to get a hold of someone is to message our first-line support on our live online chat.

If I've helped in any way, please give me Kudos and mark my response as a helpful answer!

Fancy £50 off your bill? Ask me how and you might just get it!

I am a serving Field Technician at Virgin however all responses on here are based on my experiences in the field alone and my own equipment at home and should be taken as such

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
coenoby
Super solver
Message 3 of 39
Flag for a moderator

@PI wrote:

Virgin have breached my data and left my information open for 10 months or so.  I'm receiving lots of Spam is there a connection?

You are not the first to ask that question. The fact is that there may be a connection but spammers get email addresses from a range of different sources so there may be no connection at all.

Here is a link that describes three different ways spammers may have got your email address. Virgin Media email users are vulnerable to all three approaches even though they are probably completely unaware of it. https://www.lifewire.com/how-spammers-get-email-addresses-1173992

Coenoby

I am just another Virgin Media customer.
If someone posts a useful reply you can say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up sign in their post.
If someone posts a message that solves your problem it helps everyone if you mark their post as a Helpful Answer
用心棒
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person