Menu
JAS106
Tuning in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

SPECIAL PORT LEGACY

Hi Trying to set up eMclient have been informed by eMclient that special port legacy is not a prefered connection, Can you tell me if Virgin Media only use this type of port connection I am no IT expert and just following instructions from Virgin Media POP3 when I put in there settings it does not connect I have to go into diagnoses it searches for the settings and ends up with special port legacy settings which eMClient say its not a preferd port connection .

0 Kudos
ravenstar68
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: SPECIAL PORT LEGACY

Without having heard the full conversation I can't comment on the emClient staff member, but here's what I do know

Special Port (legacy) setting is the old standard for most email servers.  

The correct term for such connections is Implicit SSL/TLS - implicit, because connections on port 995 MUST negotiate an SSL/TLS connection before contimuing.

The other form of SSL/TLS connection is explicit.  This form uses the port as insecure connections and then, assuming the server advertises it can do so, asks to upgrade the connection to a secure one by issuing a STARTTLS command.  SMTP submission ideally uses this on port 587, and more and more mail exchangers are now using StartTLS when receiving mails from other domains.

The normal setting for POP3 with emClient is

pop3.virginmedia.com
Port 995
Use SSL/TLS on special port (legacy)
Username is Full email address
Password 

SMTP

smtp.virginmedia.com
Port 465
Use SSL/TLS on special port (legacy)
Username is full email address~
Password

If you set the username and password on the General tab then you can select use identity details instead.

Tim

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
JAS106
Tuning in
Message 3 of 5