cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

'Orphan' email account

Eiliann
Joining in

Hi guys,

Apparently like quite a few others on here, I have an old e-mail account from the virgin.net days (which I was told would be/was closed/gone several years ago) which I would like to re-gain access to if at all possible.  I have a current Virgin subscription service with Account Number, Area Code, etc., so that's not a problem.

If anyone could give me a hand with this, it would be appreciated.

Many thanks for any help 🙂

4 REPLIES 4

coenoby
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

@Eiliann wrote:

I have an old e-mail account from the virgin.net days (which I was told would be/was closed/gone several years ago) which I would like to re-gain access to if at all possible. 🙂

VM often used to leave these "Orphan"  accounts open for years but since they stopped issuing new email accounts it seems they may be having a purge to clear them out.

Do you  know whether that email account does still exist? 

If not you could check that from here https://cleantalk.org/email-checker/ - enter the full email address and see if it comes up "real" or "fake".

Or you could try sending a test email to that address and see if you  get a delivery failure message back with "Mailbox not found" or similar.

If you don't get a error message back or the checker comes up with "real" then it may be possible for VM to allow you to regain temporary access to the account  but there are definitely no guarantees.

However, even if it is still live at the moment, that email account's days are numbered.

One of the Forum Team (VM staff who support this forum) will contact you via this thread in the next day or so and check it out for you.

Coenoby

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media.

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks