Menu
Bluesal
Tuning in
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Emails

I can receive but not send emails. When I go into settings I get the message ' cannot connect to outgoing server' ?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Edward_W1
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Emails

Hi Bluesal, 

Would you mind confirming if this is an issue with Microsoft Outlook or Virgin's own email system? 

Thanks

Ed 

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
DJ_Shadow1966
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Hello
Thank for joining in on the forum, we will try the best to get your issue resolved.

First I would suggest to following to find the error that you are getting on your email client :- Look here to get the error logs:- https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Email/Outgoing-Authentication-Issues-Check-Email-Logs/td-p/3237..., if you do have an VM305 error then more than likely the spambot was asleep as spamhaus will automatically remove after 2 days of no spam activity, if error then follow :- https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Security-matters/Searching-for-Spambots-on-your-network/td-p/40...

You can check your listing yourself but there is no point requesting removal until you have found and deleted the spambot. https://www.spamhaus.org/query and type in your external IP you can gets this my typing "whats my ip" into google.

If you are running Hola VPN Free, then note But Hola Free VPN is anything but a VPN.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Bluesal
Tuning in
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

I've checked on spamhaus and my address has not been blocked 

0 Kudos
Bluesal
Tuning in
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Virgin

@blueyonder.co.uk

0 Kudos
Bluesal
Tuning in
Message 6 of 10