Menu
Mike_L
Tuning in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Email rejected dur to SPF / DMARC policy

I am sending email from a private domain via Virgin's SMTP server (smtp.virginmedia.com). I have recently started seeing large numbers of emails being rejected, with the following message:

Your message have been determined to be suspicious due to non-compliance with the SPF or DMARC policy for the domain < my domain name >, which this message appears to have originated from.
If you are the owner of this domain, then please refer to the below forum post for corrective action:
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Email/Sending-email-using-your-own-domain/td-p/3716147

I studied the information in the above-mentioned forum post, but to be honest I didn't understand any of it. (I did manage to find the contents of the SPF record, but I've no idea how to interpret it or how to alter it.)

I contacted my hosting company (where the domain is registered) but they said I must contact Virgin.

I'd be grateful for any help or guidance.

Mike

0 Kudos
Graham_A
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Email rejected dur to SPF / DMARC policy

Virgin Media won't be able to make the necessary changes for you. 

Generally they need to be made in the control panel of your domain registrar/hosting account.  The author of the post you were linked to is probably the best person to help.  However, I have no idea how much he is able to contribute during this current crisis period, but I will give him a mention @ravenstar68 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media, I'm a VM customer. There are no guarantees that my advice will work. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
HowardML
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator