THe only VM email address that I now use is my primary ntlworld address. I deleted my secondary addresses, but unfortunately did not cancel the forwarding to my primary address before doing so. The secondary addresses are still active in that they are still receiving spam, but not active enough for me to log in and cancel the forwarding. I understand that the IT team can be contacted, via this forum, to manually delete the unused addresses.
I logged in to my primary account and deleted five secondary/additional email addresses. Unfortunately one of them is receiving a lot of spam and forwarding it to my primary address. Having deleted the offending address, I can no longer log in to it to cancel the forwarding. The cancelled addresses are returned as active by MailTester.com.
Thanks for responding with a private message. I replied with the required security details but am not sure that you received them. Was the information provided sufficient for you to refer the problem to the IT team?
It would appear that logging in to a primary account and deleting the associated secondary accounts (and email addresses), merely denies access to the account holder. The account remains active in that emails can still be addressed to the 'deleted' accounts, with the originator receiving no notification that their emails are not being received. After 90 days the accounts become completely inactive.
Perhaps someone at VM could explain the logic behind this arrangement.
The addresses that I deleted are still receiving offensive spam and forwarding it to the single virgin media address that I have retained to manage my broadband account. I am disappointed that this forum has turned out to be merely a talking shop, and that no one from VM appears to have the inclination nor ability to fix the problem. The good news is that Openreach have just installed FTTP in my street, so come February when my contract is up I can ditch VM.
Thanks for picking up on this. Yes, I deleted my secondary addresses as they were receiving spam. What is really annoying is that deleting the addresses merely denies me access to them, forwarding to my primary address continues.