Menu
bushlyme
Tuning in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Cannot send e-mails with Thunderbird

First, my apologies  for appearing to repeat a similar query I have just been reading. It is possible the answer is in there, somewhere, but I'm afraid most of it was over my head. So please bear with me.

I have downloaded Thunderbird v.78.2.1 (32 bit) on a brand new desktop running Windows 10. It also has Norton Ultra v. 22.20.5.39. I can receive e-mails, but when I try to send, there is a wait of about 30 secs and then a banner pops up saying "The message could not be sent because the connection to the Outgoing server (SMTP) smtp.virginmedia.com was lost in the middle of the transaction. Try again." Thunderbird on my old laptop running Windows 7 still seems to be working fine.

I have little or no experience of these matters, but I do wonder if the problem could be due to Windows Mail still being on the new PC. The problem with Mail was an ability to send but an inability to receive.

0 Kudos
用心棒
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Cannot send e-mails with Thunderbird

It is unlikely the issue is due to interference from another email client.

Consider enabling logging in Thunderbird to try and identify the cause. To do this:

1. highlight the following text:

type con > thunderbird-enable-logging.bat  
    rem Debugging using Thunderbird's logging https://wiki.dovecot.org/Debugging/Thunderbird
    set mydate=%date:~-4,4%%date:~-7,2%%date:~-10,2%
    set mytime=%time:~0,2%%time:~+3,2%

set NSPR\_LOG\_MODULES=SMTP:5
    set NSPR\_LOG\_FILE=%USERPROFILE%\\thunderbird\_%mydate%\_%mytime%.log

start /d "c:\\program files\\mozilla thunderbird" thunderbird.exe
  2. copy the highlighted text by pressing Ctrl + C

3. open the Run dialogue box by pressing Windows Key + R

4. open a Command Shell by typing cmd into the Open field of the Run dialogue box and then select OK