If you are not a Broadband customer it could be that the email address has been deleted as normally when you leave after 90 days your account should be deleted, although some hang around for much longer as they get missed by the cleanup, email usage is only given to customers with a broadband account.
Not user error and you did a great and intuitive thing. And its reminded me of something. We've seen a lot of a very specific error recently and it automatically makes us think on one path. You've sparked off a thought in my mind about another case.
The VM servers that hold passwords are distributed across the system and can get out of sync. What you did got them back into sync. Gold star and some kudos!
I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more
Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks