Menu
willf
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Moving House New Install

Hi All

I am an existing VM customer with 3x V6 boxes, telephone & 200MB Fibre Broadband. We are moving house in February and understand we can just transfer our services as VM is available in the area.

Only issue I can foresee is getting the cables to the V6 boxes in the new property. It's a mid-terraced Grade 2 listed building so cables are not allowed to run up the outside of the walls. Internally it has 150+ year old Italian coving and some ornate skirting boards as well.

Ideally the cabling will need to be run under the floorboards but I don't expect VM installers will want to do that. I am an electrician by trade so I could install the cables beforehand but have had some conflicting advice on what cable should be used and whether the engineers will connect to it once I have installed it.

Can anyone offer any advice on the cable I should be using and if it's ok for me to install it prior to VM engineers visiting?

Thanks

0 Kudos
spgray
Problem sorter
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Moving House New Install

you can't run the cables yourself.
all you can do it run conduit and pull-strings to allow the cables to be placed where you need them to be.

-----------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - spgray

0 Kudos
-tony-
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

you cannot use your own cable - it must be supplied by VM - - you can put pull cords in and/or ducts and they will try to feed cables - whist not exactly correct you could ask them to lay cables above the floorboards and you could then re route then - as long as you dont change anything it would not affect the setup

the above would be down to the tech on the day