Searching for something?
Reply
Fresh as a Daisy
carlosr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎30-05-2012
Helpful Answer

Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1

I am trying to connect to my Superhub settings and cannot now access the settings. I was previously able to do this as l am trying to setup my own router using Modem mode as the wifi speed is 34mb and connected speed is 61mb. Trying to access the IP just times out and l cannot connect. I've tried the reset button but still no access Can anyone help?
Please use plain text.
Fix-a-Lot
legacy1
Posts: 4,245
Registered: ‎29-01-2011

Re: Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1

Try this IP
http://192.168.100.1
------------------Die-hard direct connection modem user :smileytongue:
Believing is catch 22 the VMDG280 should never of been made the Super hubs 1 & 2 could have been built better the years go by and we can't see the mistakes that were made to make things right.
The more that use modem mode the more we need IPv6: Pingtest, BQM, Speed Test, Outgoing ports test
Please use plain text.
Captain Clued-Up
craigj2k11
Posts: 1,108
Registered: ‎15-02-2011

Re: Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1

in modem mode the adress changes to http://192.168.100.1

Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
carlosr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎30-05-2012

Re: Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1

Thanks. I'm back in normal mode as l couldn't get my router working but still can't access the settings. Tried your other ip also
Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 5,204
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1

[ Edited ]

Hi Carlosr

 

Both IP's should work in normal mode, in modem mode only 192.168.0.100 will work.  Sometimes however the SH web interface locks up and the only way to restore it is to power down the SH and then power it back up.

 

If you were wanting to attach another router in Modem mode then the steps to take would be as follows

 

Switch SH to modem mode

Attach router to Port 1 of the SH - (The one closest to the Coaxial Cable)

Power off both SH and router

Power on SH

Power on Router

 

When the router is switched to modem mode, it will grab the MAC address of the equipment it is first attached to, usually the PC.

Powering off the SH after changing the equipment forces it to get the new MAC address from the router, everything should work fine after this.

 

Tim

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.
Captain Clued-Up
craigj2k11
Posts: 1,108
Registered: ‎15-02-2011

Re: Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1


ravenstar68 wrote:

Hi Carlosr

 

Both IP's should work in normal mode, in modem mode only 192.168.0.100 will work.  Sometimes however the SH web interface locks up and the only way to restore it is to power down the SH and then power it back up.

 

Tim


http://192.168.100.1  you mean :smileywink:

Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 5,204
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: Cannot connect to 198.162.0.1

Oops My bad yeah 192.168.100.1

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.