Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Daniel97

TiVo in cupboard?

If I put my TiVo box away in a cupboard. Big aerated cupboard. Box won't be damaged! How can I still control it with the remote. Obviously I need IR signal? Can I just buy a cheap IR extender cable on eBay for like £2? I'm a bit confused! Any links to any that work?
Please use plain text.
Superuser
AMWSmith

Re: TiVo in cupboard?

Have you got a iPhone/iPad or iPod touch?

If so you can controle the Tivo with a App called Peanut or Peanut plus. but you will need to connet you tivo to your home network.

Tony.
2X TiVo 500G (TV XL) 152Mb BB & Weekend Calls.
Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
ozsat

Or buy a TiVo bluetooth slide remote - it just has a few buttons difference and easy to get around.

---
TiVo (MRS)
152Meg BB
Sky 3D/Anytime+
VM Telephone
Please use plain text.
Crafty
treefitty

Agreed cheap remote extender, Ipad/Iphone app or american slider remote will all work.

I would like to add "Drill big hole in cupboard door" also as a solution!

LOL Have fun
Please use plain text.
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Daniel97

Lol thanks for the replies. Drill hole is not an option. Albeit a slightly more exciting way to get my TV to work lol! iPad, iPhone - great. For me only. Everyone else is less tech savvy and not an option. Slide remote. Great. £50 and it has one or 2 buttons missing though .. Any other options? I don't want any of these big plug in set ups just literally an IR sensor attached to a cable that plugs direct into my TiVo box. Do they exist?
Please use plain text.
Captain Clued-Up
zeke

Yeah, I want to put my TiVo in the cupboard under the TV too, keep things tidy.  But as far as I know there's no cheap IR repeater device, it's a case of getting a Marmitek IR Extender thing, which seems to retail for around £20-30 depending on where you look.

____________________________________________________________________________________________