Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Brainbox
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎18-05-2012

RT (Russia today)

Does anyone know if RT is on the basic tv packages? And if not is virgin planning on getting it?

 

Thanks

 

 

Clever-clogs
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎20-04-2012

Re: RT (Russia today)

it's not even listed on the full package sadly. Only decent news channel I would actually watch. Hopefully it iwll be available one day but who knows.

Brainbox
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎19-02-2011

Re: RT (Russia today)

Nope, but it's on Freeview - so if you have an antennae and Freeview TV/box, just plug it in Smiley Happy

 

Faz
Boffin
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎19-02-2011

Re: RT (Russia today)

+1 for RT
Making Waves
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2013

Re: RT (Russia today)

I have only just noticed that RT is not listed on my TiVo box (I usually watch this channel from another TV, hence me only just noticing this) and I am disgusted. If I knew this I would have never signed up to Virgin. 
This channel is available on freeview so I can only assume Virgin have chosen not to offer it. The fact that this is the only news channel not controlled by the banking and finance sectors and that actually gives you the real news and Virgin are not offering it says a lot about Virgin. This stinks. 

 

Superuser
Posts: 5,930
Registered: ‎21-04-2010

Re: RT (Russia today)

There are financial costs to Virgin for every channel it carries, whether that channel happens to be FTA on other platforms or not.

 

You can only ask & wait with your fingers crossed.

original.pngCable customer since 1993. Services: XL TV, Sky Sports & Movies (2xV+), XL Telco, 100Mb BB, Virgin PAYG Mobile

The Sorter
Posts: 686
Registered: ‎26-06-2011

Re: RT (Russia today)

[ Edited ]

yes I can't get enough of Russia Today  -  I record it 24/7  -  and keep watching reruns of it.......Smiley Wink

Fresh as a Daisy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎24-08-2013

Re: RT (Russia today)

RT and Al Jazeera were not on virgin but if you switched to Freeview channels it was there - BUT now the Virgin box is blocking these 2 Freeview Channels.  I can go to my other TV that is not on Virgin and they are still there. I can only imagine this is a political decision.  So I am really saddened by Virgin. Are they cowering to US pressure in their desire to function in the US?

Fresh as a Daisy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎24-08-2013

Re: RT (Russia today)

RT and Al Jazeera were not on virgin but if you switched to Freeview channels it was there - BUT now the Virgin box is blocking these 2 Freeview Channels.  I can go to my other TV that is not on Virgin and they are still there. I can only imagine this is a political decision.  So I am really saddened by Virgin. Are they cowering to US pressure in their desire to function in the US?

Superuser
Posts: 6,177
Registered: ‎01-03-2010

Re: RT (Russia today)


julchip wrote:

RT and Al Jazeera were not on virgin but if you switched to Freeview channels it was there - BUT now the Virgin box is blocking these 2 Freeview Channels.  I can go to my other TV that is not on Virgin and they are still there. I can only imagine this is a political decision.  So I am really saddened by Virgin. Are they cowering to US pressure in their desire to function in the US?


The Virgin box is in no way capable of blocking freeview channels and indeed I'm pretty sure it would be illegal for it to do so, I suggest you retune your freeview box